Friday, Aug. 06, 2004

Hugging Melissa Ferrick, posted at 4:51 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Yesterday, Melissa Ferrick played a free show outside at Mt. Vernon Park. I was a bit worried that seeing her in an outside venue would diminish her power, but it didn't. I was rapt, and I think most of the audience was (certainly more for her than the headliner, Steve Forbert).

Anyhow, after she played, I sauntered off to find a bathroom. After seeing a single portapotty at the entire event, I decided to walk back down to Midtwown Yacht Club and use their facilities, which are slightly better than that of a portapotty.

On the way back, I noticed Melissa behind the stage, talking to folks and signing CDs. I'm not really into getting things signed, but I watched for a bit. Then, I figured that since I've probably seen the woman 15 times live by now, and had booked her a couple times back when I ran The Common Grounds, I'd say hi and thank her for being so cool.

Anyhow, she came over, and I told her my name and where I had booked her from. She immediately looked at me, smiled, and gave me a full-on two-arm hug. She then said, "My god, you've lost so much weight." And she asked what I was doing down here, and I said, teaching high school english in the city. She thanked me for that and said her dad taught for 37 years, and asked me if I liked it. She then told me to e-mail her and she'll put me on guest lists whenever she's in town.

The moment was pretty cool, I must say. The conversation took all of a minute, but it was clear that she remembered me.

I hope she can keep up with her touring pace for years to come.

I'm off to an Orioles game tonight.