Thursday, Aug. 05, 2004

Going to the free show, posted at 2:18 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

My body aches and I've decided to take a day off from working out. It's probably for the best. Although I do admit that I went all the way to Bally's and stood in front of the Smith machine before I figured this out. And it was my dry, dry eyes and flickering contacts that did me in. I decided to go home and take out my contacts and see how I felt later. Well, later is here, and I still don't want to work out. I'm heading very soon to Midtown Yacht Club, where I'm going to sit and get myself primed (re: drunk) for tonight's Melissa Ferrick show in front of the monument. I'll be meeting a bunch of people, but my early compadre will be Ryan, who I haven't seen in a long time so that will be nice. The bar is our old stomping grounds, and I don't think I've been there in a year since we usually end up in either Canton (after softball), Fell's Point (after working @ the restaurant), or Federal Hill (anytime else).

But, yes, it will be an eclectic mix of people. Oddly enough, I'm probably driving the married polish girl over. Last night, she suckered me into taking her out for a drink, with her eyes and little coo to her voice. I'm thinking to myself that she's a married woman, but then it turned out to be a little group of people, so it was okay. She then asked for a ride to today's concert, since she doesn't have a car. I think the other cute girl from work will be joining us as well, a bit later. My good friend Rose, the friend I brought to the wedding and who I usually go with to Melissa Ferrick concerts, is meeting up at 3:30 as well. My colleague and probably new supervisor might make an appearance, although I can't imagine him enjoying himself so I might try to steer him away if I can manage. Renee will join up, the object of many conflicted emotions right now. I think A Fool's Fate will join up.

***

A few other items:

1. I think I saw Rafael Palmeiro at the bar last night. It was at Red Star, a cool new bar in Fell's Point. I'm not sure if it was really him, but I would put 50/50 odds on it. I refrained myself from yelling, "Stick a fork in him... he's done" like I do at Orioles games, though.

2. I'm officially glad that I'm a Tigers fan more than an Orioles fan. Not only does it look like the Tigers will win more games this season, the future isn't looking that great for the O's. Everyone says that pitching is their problems - and it's true, it's abominable - but, let's face it, they're only above average at three of their nine positions in the field - third base (Mora), shorstop (Tejada), and catcher (Lopez). If Hairston were at second, then possibly it would be four, and if Gibbons were healthy, it would possibly be five. But those last two are deep question marks, especially since the Orioles' awful new manager, Lee Mazilli, continues to have the impression that Brian Roberts is the answer at second base. No one is really on the way in the minors and the O's have little to trade. I'm feeling pretty good about my Tigers, though. They're above average at five positions, clearly, with 2B (Infante), SS (Guillen), C (Rodriguez), LF (White), and DH (Young) all solidly above average. CF, with Sanchez, is up in the air. And, the Tigers are much better than the O's at every position except third base. Shorstop is just a little bit better, but it is better. (Had an argument the other day of who the best shortstop in the AL so far this season has been. It's clearly Carlos Guillen over Tejada, as Guillen is having one of the best offensive seasons for a shortstop in history right now.)

3. I have to leave for the concert.