Thursday, Jul. 29, 2004

O's game & Dave Borkowski, posted at 12:26 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Tonight was the best Orioles game I've been to all year. I was on the edge of my seat most of the game, and they pulled off a victory. Dave Borkowski, a graduate of Sterling Heights High School in Michigan (class of 1995, my year) and winter prom date of my good friend Jen Hicks, picked up the victory with a stellar performance. He pitched 7 innings and allowed only 3 hits. The Red Sox didn't get a hit until one out in the 5th. Bork's had a couple of elbow surgeries since he made his big league debut in 1999, and hadn't pitched in the majors since 2001 until this past month. He's doing very well. If he continues it, he'll be a great story.

Hitters are much easier than pitchers to predict. There's always a Dave Stewart or Dennis Eckersley who turns his career around and seems to come out of nowhere. Could this be Borkowski as well?

It's also great to see the O's win with a stadium that was more than half full of Red Sox fans. The Red Sox and their fans are almost as bad as the Yankees, in my book. Spend, spend, spend. I'm sick of all the "rivalries" that they have. Come on, a rivalry denotes that teams share dominance. The Red Sox haven't won since 1918.

After the game, Bill and I made it to the trifecta of Mother's (mediocre, as usual), Ropewalk (my friends weren't working, so we scooted without even drinkign), and then to my favorite, The Thirsty Dog. Two beers (total) later, we left. The new bartender recognized us, smiled and waved. I've lived in this city for three years, and I've never had anyone who works at a bar recognize me. It's happened twice in a row with two different bartenders at Thirsty Dog. Another reason why it's my favorite bar in Baltimore. Not to mention that blueberry beer.

In other news, my body is having a contest of what could be more sore: my upper back (worked the traps hard the other day) or my thighs. I decided to run 5.25 miles yesterday, over the course of an hour. I know it's not fast, but this was quite a workout for the level of fitness I'm at right now. I'm going to try to do that every other day, and do easier cardio on the other days. That's in addition to my Rock weights workout from Men's Health. So far, things are feeling good. They're sore, but it's a good sore.

I'm currently making slow cooker zucchini creole with my calf-sized zucchini from my garden, and have zucchini bread batter all ready to go in the fridge for baking tomorrow.