Wednesday, Jul. 28, 2004

I'm no Tim Russert, posted at 2:07 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm still reeling from Obama's speech last night. It's so nice not to feel cynical about politics, to see a guy who just makes perfect sense without kowtowing to anyone or seeming disingenuous in any way. It's very rare for me to find a leader who inspires me. I still feel inspired, though. I've got to keep reminding myself that it's only one speech from a state senator, but I'm pretty convinced that this guy is going places and will make the world a better place.

I've been reading about this morning all over, and listened to the speech again, and liked these words from gay conservative Andrew Sullivan: "The Republicans would love to have someone of Obama's caliber - but they have failed to attract them. That is their tragedy, and it is only deepened in a party that gave rise to Trent Lott and Tom DeLAy. Obama is the Democrats' hope. Heck, he is the hope for all of us."

Looking ahead, if Kerry loses this year, the Dems are looking pretty bad. I like Hillary, but she doesn't have a chance at garnering the votes needed to win. I like Edwards, but a failed VP candidate doesn't do much for me. There's gotta be a reason that a guy with Wesley Clark's credentials didn't connect with voters this year. Unfortunately, Jennifer Granholm is Canadian and can't run because of an antiquated part of our Constitution. Bill Richardson doesn't have much charisma. It's nice to see someone in the future who is in the wings. He wouldn't be ready in 2008, but 2012 or 2016, watch out. I still have a lot of hope in O'Malley as well.

The Republicans don't have much going in 2008, I don't think. Powell probably won't run. Cheney won't. Condolleeza Rice is a possibility, but I lost a lot of faith in her ability when she had to testify in front of the 9/11 Commission. McCain will be 70 by then, I think. Schwarzenegger can't run, because of that aforementioned antiquated part of the Constitution. I'm not really sure who else is out there.

So, the rest of my thoughts on yesterday's speeches:

Ron Reagan: Powerful, great job. It looks like Kerry is going to try to put this issue on the forefront, make science part of the campaign. This is a good move, because stem cell research is something that Bush is way, way to the right, unbelievably so.

Howard Dean: I thought it was a little weak. I don't know. I never really liked the guy too much, but he's smart and I loved his "I represent the Democratic Wing of the Democratic Party" remarks during the primary. I liked how he mobilized the party, but I never saw much reflection from him, and his record just wasn't that great. I think my perception of him was always colored by the fact that he couldn't win (and that time he was on Russert). He's just not a very good speaker; his lack of reflection on issues rivals that of Bush's. I am having a good time hearing him rip into Nadar so much lately, though.

Theresa Heinz-Kerry: Snooze. Why did she talk so slow? I liked her joke about being opinionated, but mostly I thought she sounded overly rich and out of touch. Anyhow, she didn't do much for me, and I like my women strong and opinionated.

I didn't watch Kennedy's, but I'm unclear why he still gets so much adulation. I guess it's nice that he's the last bridge to the Camelot Kennedy thing, but, come on, he let that woman stay in her car for hours after running her off the road. And I had to adjust the color of my television so I could stomach his huge, bulbous nose.

I'm just kidding on that last one. As I said, I didn't watch him speak.

Tonight is O'Malley and Edwards. Although, to be fair, I might just go to the movies and watch the speeches later on PBS.

Times are good right now. Here is my August itinerary, for the moment -

August 2: Softball game
August 3: Softball game
August 5: Melissa Ferrick doing a free concert for First Thursdays in the Mt. Vernon square. She's so good.
August 5-9: Summer Orientation Program. I get paid $30 to work at it.
August 6: Orioles Game
August 15: My birthday. It might not be on this day, but I plan on making it through all the beers at Thirsty Dog, and maybe a couple pizzas or a Hearts Afire salad as well.
August 18-ish: Another quick trip back to Michigan for friends and family and Tigers games and lynching exhibits. (I have weird friends.)
August 30: First day for me back to school.

Anyhow, this is part of an e-mail I sent out to our softball team today. I think it depicts my mood rather well:

"...So, to summarize, we have a game on Monday at 6 and a game on Tuesday at time TBA (my money's on 8pm, since that's when we were set to play this week). Both are at Patterson Park.

I think this is good news, because it sounds like a lot of us couldn't make it on Saturday.

The next thing I want to ask is... who wants to play wiffleball this fall? Signup is August 30 and the games starts the week of September 30 for 8 weeks. In addition, they are starting a dodgeball league the same league. Are people interested in either? Think about it and we can talk about it when we see each other next week. I would be willing to coach and collect money. I'd rather do wiffleball if I had to choose, but I'm also game for both. Screw (the restaurant).

In addition, Melissa Ferrick, my favorite live performer, is playing a free concert for the First Thursdays Series at the Washington Monument in Mt. Vernon on Thursday, August 5. The show starts at 5:30. I definitely would not be opposed to meeting up with some folks, possibly at Midtown Yacht Club in the late afternoon so we get parking, and then heading over to the show. Three other bands also play, including Steve Forbert. Melissa Ferrick is sort of a lesbian version of Bruce Springsteen. She rawks.

Lastly, my birthday is Sunday, August 15th, and I plan on heading over to Thirsty Dog and trying to make it through all ten of their beers in one sitting. If anyone would care to join me for this unhealthy bit of binge drinking, (apparently forgetting that I'll be turnign 27 and not 22), and maybe a pizza or a Hearts Afire salad, then I'd love to have company. I'm not actually sure what day I'm going to do it. It might be Sunday night or it might be Monday night. Probably not Saturday night because I need the money and I'm sure I'll be scheduled to work. Also, I think M was having a get together around that weekend sometime, right?

And, almost done now, I wanted to let everyone know that H*olden's Lair House Concerts will be back full swing this fall. I've already made one huge booking for November (Wally Pleasant, www.wallypleasant.com), and plan on getting September and October filled soon. I don't plan on having detached retinas this fall again, so the hibernation of H*olden's Lair is over. The sleeping beast has awoken.

I'm on day 3 of four days off in a row. I don't know what I'm going to do with myself if I keep having all this free time. I've even reading for pleasure (I've finished "Life of Pi" and "The Known World" in the last couple of days, and I'm onto "The Corner"). I might go to the movies tonight. Or maybe an Orioles game. Life is good. I hope you all are well, as well."