Tuesday, Jul. 27, 2004

Return from the trip, posted at 8:54 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm back from my trip to Michigan for the two weddings. The trip went well, overall. I leave myself wondering if it's better to fly or drive. I left my house at around noon to go to Penn Station-Baltimore, and a train ride, two metro rides, and a bus ride later, I was at Dulles airport. It wasn't expensive getting there ($7 for the Marc Train, $2.70 for the metro, $3 for the bus), but it was time consuming; it almost took four hours. Then, when my original flight was cancelled and the second one delayed, the trip flying actually took me 12 hours - as long as it would have taken me to drive. But, it was relatively stress free, and I was able to read a lot, and the Dulles Airport terminal is sort of like a mall, so I can't complain too much. Still, the benefit of flying seems to be that the travel doesn't take up your whole day, and it did, both ways. The way back didn't feature the delays, but Lansing Airport is boring as hell, so even getting their the hour-and-change early was dull. Then, that whole odyssey getting from Dulles to Baltimore wasn't difficult, it was just boring and I was exhausted by the time I got home.

In addition, I have lost my car keys. I put them in the front pouch of my luggage for the trip, knowing I wouldn't need them at all. However, they're not there. I have no idea where they could be. I've called Northwest and both airports, to no avail. I'm not sure what I'm going to do, but I cannot drive, and that sucks. Hopefully I will formulate a plan about that soon. I can't seem to find my spare key that I had made, and am afraid that I threw it away.

In other news, I finished The Known World, our department's summer reading book. I liked the book, but it wasn't a page turner; at times, I felt I had to slog through it. It was redeemed with some truly great moments, and I liked Jones' style of previewing material and flashbacking. Still, I think it's too long of a book to teach in high school, and there was just something not very transcendent about it. I like literature that tells us something about humanity, and, while this did, I wasn't able to translate it to today quite as well as many other examples of historical fiction.