Monday, Jul. 19, 2004

Alright, posted at 10:23 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

A pile of spent candlewax lay on the counter after the busgirl cleaned the edges of the candles on the mantle off.

When the cute, funny girl with the weird sense of humor came in, I decided to put a big piece of it in my ear. When she noticed, I told her with a complete straight face that I had a bit of an earwax problem.

She laughed and laughed and laughed.

And I wonder why I'm single. Heh.

Feeling pretty good about myself otherwise. If I can keep up with this workout schedule - and I see no reason why I can't - then I'll be fine.

In looking over my life, I think I've had just a few months of complete contentment. That would be from about January 2002 through March 2003. It started when my second semester of teaching started, when I finally had it down and could rely on my skills to get my point across. My personal life was very rich and rewarding, too. I had great friends in both Michigan and Baltimore. The house concert thing was going very well. I was getting laid fairly regularly. I played every sport for the Baltimore Sports and Social Club. Things were going great. It ended when the girl in Michigan decided to date someone else and not tell me, only to have me find out from other avenues. In the year plus since then, my paths to pure contentment have been derailed by working too much, by severe financial straits (for the first time, I couldn't afford to eat), by fairly severe medical problems. There were, of course, moments of great happiness in that time, though - the trip to Italy, getting the head baseball coaching position and having a good season, the moment I could wear contact lens again. But lasting fulfillment has not come about. For everything good that happens, bad things happen as well - my mother's diagnosis with Hepatitis, my car getting towed, my grandmother's continued descent into Alzheimers, the feeling that my third year of teaching was my slump year.

But I'm feeling pretty good about this summer. I'm working, but am not overworking. I'm feeling healthy and relaxed. I hope it keeps up. This is what I've been waiting for and I hope it's lasting.