Monday, Jul. 19, 2004

Novocaine for the soul, posted at 6:23 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I had a fairly unproductive day, the great workout this morning aside. I went to Petsmart and spent $29 of the $1500 or so I have left to make it through the summer, and I guess that's not too bad. Still, one of the things I ended up buying was this play cavern scratcher, which was a total impulse buy for Tobey the cat. It's basically a cardboard box with a couple of holes on it, and a scratch post with a baggy of kitty weed to sprinkle on it. It was only $7.99, but so far he won't go near it. You should see me scratching on the post, trying to lure him to do the same.

"No thanks," he says. "I'll just scratch that couch over there when I get the urge. Thanks anyway!"

This should be a good week. Right now, I'm formulating my plans for the weekend. My cousin is getting married on Saturday, as well as one of my best friends from college. One is in Williamston, MI, and the other is in Grand Rapids, MI. The Williamston reception is at 4pm (wedding ceremony is private), while the Grand Rapids reception begins at 6:30. Williamston and Grand Rapids are about an hour apart, probably a little bit longer once distance away from I-196 is factored in. It will be an interesting evening and I'm not sure how I'm going to do it all, especially since I'll probably have my dog in tow, unless I can convince my roommate to watch him over the weekend.

I've also decided that flying is something that rich people do, not me. Even at $156 from DC to Detroit, which is a hundred dollars cheaper than any other flight that way I've ever seen, I've still go to figure out a way to get from Baltimore to DC. I'd take the Marc Train and the metro, but that's more $$ I've got to add onto the cost of the trip. Then, I'd have to figure out a way to get from Detroit to the weddings to South Haven (my parents' hometown) and then back to Detroit for my flight, and that's a lot of driving. Also, there's Holden. I hate burdening him on others. If I put him in a kennell, the cost of flying from the Baltimore/DC area to Michigan goes up to about $300, which is way, way more expensive than driving. I can get there in ten hours, it takes two fillups ($40) and $17 worth of tolls.

Therefore, it looks like I'll be driving. I don't mind it, really. Flying is for rich people and I'm just not rich.

A few other developments:

1. At 26, I've never even wore a suit, let alone owned one. I've never minded before, but at the last wedding I went to, I felt a little out of place in my shirt, tie, and dress pants. I've chosen now as the moment to become concerned with this. I'm not going to do anything about it, I don't think, but I should probably get myself a suit sometime in the near future.

2. I hope it doesn't rain tonight. I have a softball game at 8pm, and I've been looking forward to it all day. I also shortened my cardio workout because I knew I'd be getting some exercise this evening.

3. My garden has produced a zucchini as big as my calf, and I'm unsure what to do with it. I've already eaten a couple of smaller ones, so I think it's time to just make some sort of zucchini bread or something. But I've looked up a few recipes, and I'd have to buy all the rest of the ingredients - they're things like baking powder and baking soda and cinnamon and flour, things that a guy like me just doesn't have lying around. If I don't do something with it by the end of the week, though, it'll go bed. Hmmmm.

4. I made an appointment with a new veterinarian today, and I'll be bringing both of my animals in on Thursday the 29th. Hopefully she's friendlier with them than the current one. I'm not quite sure how I'm going to transport both animals at once down to Federal Hill, though.