Thursday, Jul. 08, 2004

Rats!, posted at 3:53 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

So the girl had plans this evening and couldn't switch with me. Damn. Another Happy Hour, missed. This is a prime demonstration of how my social life has withered in the last year. I hope it's worth it, with things like the opportunity to finish my MACT in France next summer with money saved from the job I hope to keep almost the entire school year again (maybe less hours, though). But, right now, it sucks. I work six nights out of seven this week and am feeling very sorry for myself.

But don't feel too bad for me. If I'm lucky, I might make $12 this evening. I'm barista (is there a "u" in that word? Annie spells it without one, but I swear I've seen it with one. I'm inclined to go with Annie, though) tonight, which means I'll be tipped out 20% of the server's tips, which will be sucky to begin with. It's Slavic night and a bowl of borsht and a plate of pierogies are $9.95, and a lot of people get that on Thursday nights. The tip on a $9.95 meal isn't too good, and we'll probably pull 15 covers tonight, if we're lucky. Most will get Slavic. Few will get Slavic beer; they'll get coke instead. It's just the way it is.

If any of you B-more bloggers are out at 11pm when I get off, I'd love to join you. Otherwise, though, have fun! I'm genuinely disappointed to be missing it. There was/is nothing I can do, though, without screwing over the people I work with.

It's days like these when I imagine myself to be Charlie Brown, with a little dark cloud over my head as I move from frame to frame. First frame: I'm ten minutes late for another followup to my eye surgeon appointment. Next frame. I wait for two hours in the office, and my pupils are so dillated that I can't even read, so I literally twiddle my thumbs. Next frame. I left my sunglasses in Michigan, so the drive home with still partially dillated eyes is hellish and probably unsafe. Next frame. My Trader Joe's sushi overturns in the car and soy sauce spills all over the center console. And it goes on and on.