Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2004

Drama, posted at 9:54 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I approve the selection of John Edwards. I cannot believe, however, that Kerry is behind in my home state of Michigan, 44%-43%. Ugh.

***

I returned to work at the restaurant last night. I walked in the door and drama engulfed me. Three people quit in the week I was gone, which is something that cripples a small restaurant like mine. One of my good friends quit after the manager, who pisses people off left and right, pissed her off. He's never pulled any of the shit he's pulled with her with me - in fact, he's been nothing but nice and flexible with me - but if he did, I'd probably be out, too. However, I know that a walkout resignation (rather than a 2-week resignation) doesn't affect the restaurant as much as it does the staff that remains. Because of the three people who quit, the four people who still work there as staff need to pick up the slack. It sucks, but there's nothing I can do about. Therefore, I work six nights this week, including the night of the Happy Hour, which I requested to have off weeks ago, and on Sunday, when my little sister is visiting and we have plans to go to the Orioles game. For the former, I'm going to try to finagle a trade-off, but that may or may not happen, and for the former, well, if they make me work on a day I request off, and I had plans to go to the Little Havana Brunch, with its all-you-can-drink bloody mary, and then the Orioles game, with its "bring-the-cup-back-to-my-section-and-I'll-refill-that-beer-for-half-price" underhanded vendors, well I hope they don't mind that I come in for my 5pm shift a little bit drunk.

To make it worse, our restaurant dies in the summer. I made $22 last night. I'm not sure how I'm going to pay rent on that. Luckily, I actually have saved money for this summer, but I hate to dip into it. Tonight, I will miss the Juliana Hatfield show at Fletcher's. Actually, she might not have gone on yet by 11pm. I'm going to try to go still. However, I hate to buy a ticket to go to a show that's over. That's why I've been trying to win tickets on the City Paper site since I got home from work last night, but the site seems to be down.

***

Does anyone know if the Marc Train goes to Reagan National, or if there's any way to get to Reagan National if one takes the Marc Train? Spirit Airlines does a trip to Detroit from Reagan for $155, which is over $100 cheaper than I've seen from anywhere else, and I'd like to take it home in a couple of weekends when I have two weddings to go to. Speaking of which, does anyone want to watch my dog? :)