Tuesday, Jun. 15, 2004

Please don't release me, posted at 6:29 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

One secret I have kept in the last week or so is that my job situation is getting rather dire. Through some stupidity on my part (in trusting No**rth Avenue to do anything right) and much incompetence on their part, my job is in jeopardy. If things are not resolved in 10 days, by June 25, then I'm in trouble.

What bugs me most is right now, Ms. Bitch down at No**rth Avenue is looking to cover her own ass in what she communicated to me rather than helping me get full certification in this state. She tells me that her supervisor looked at my file and all our communication and says that she did all she could to communicate to me what was needed. She certainly did not, though. I, who am at one with the world and rarely if ever get angry, told her that her comments are very disconcerting because it seems as though that BC*PSS should be trying to help this teacher, who is committed to the kids in this school system, who has two years in a row of proficient (100/100 on evaluation) work, who had two major surgeries in the last year and missed only four days of school, possibly further endangering his health, who is a professional and is certified and it's all about stupid paperwork that was lost and unfortunately not copied, that they should be wanting to hang onto me. But, instead, she's worried about covering her own ass in the event that they release me.

It sucks.

I'm hoping it all works out. This is a letter my boss sent to my principal, who is a bit of a mover and a shaker. The good thing is that I'm already on payroll for next year. The bad news is that the district might release me anyway because I'm not officially certified with the state, even though the only reason I'm not is because of their own incompetence. Hopefully the letter works. I'll go all the way to Cop*eland if needed. This is complete and total bullshit and I can't leave these kids.

Tuesday, June 15, 3 p.m.

Dear Mr. ____,

Epiph went down to No**rth Avenue to resolve the certification issue presented in his letter (received over the weekend). The information and directives he's been getting over time have been contradictory and unhelpful; it's now reached a point where we need higher intervention.

This is the story: Epiph was certified to teach in Michigan and took the Michigan Basic Skills test there in order to certify. He was hired by BCP*SS and turned in all documents at the time of hire. Everything was fine. BCP*SS has lost significant portions of his file, which is what has caused the problems over the last two years. Epiph is, as you know, one of our most dedicated and accomodating teachers in English. All along, Epiph has done everything North Avenue has asked him to do to provide documentation: he has taken Praxis II (as requested), he has had Michigan send original copies of the certification, etc.

Linda Bitch, over the last year, has told Epiph in writing several times that if the Michigan Basic Skills test can substitute for the Praxis I, there would not be any certification issues outstanding.

In the letter over this past weekend, and over the phone today (quite rudely, to Epiph's surprise -- she hung up on him), her story was different: Epiph has just now been informed that although the Michigan test and Praxis I are interchangeable, she does not have the Michigan test scores on file. This is new information.

Ms. Bitch also informed Epiph that registering immediately for the August Praxis I (next test date) will not suffice. Incidentally, she has informed teachers at (the rival school) who we know that such registration was sufficient in their cases. Epiph immediately sent to Michigan for his Basic Skills test scores to be sent to Ms. Bitch. This will take 4-6 weeks. Ms. Bitch does not feel that this is sufficient, either. The situation is dire: BC*PSS has lost the documents, communicated the situation belatedly, and now blames Epiph. He will be released if this issue isn't resolved.

If you can intervene, here are the actions we request:

1) That Epiph's registration for August Praxis I be sufficient to allowhim to be rehired.
2) That releasing Epiph from employment would be held up as we wait for receipt of the Michigan scores. As you know, Epiph has gone above and beyond for the children of Baltim*ore City -- as a teacher, coach, advisor, summer school teacher, mentor, and curriculum writer. I know you'll share my feeling that No**rth Avenue owes him the same above and beyond efforts. It would be a real shame to lose such an important person in the life of our school. Thanks for supporting such a dedicated teacher,

Epiph's Department Chair