Sunday, Jun. 13, 2004

More than a tip, posted at 7:07 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Yesterday, I got more than a tip from a table. A girl left me a note and her number, telling me to give her a call. Talk about walking on cloud nine for the rest of the night. I'm going to call tonight, or maybe tomorrow.

In addition, I also made $63 on a $229 tab. That's 27%. On the way out, someone from the table told my manager to "send (Epiph) our love." I must have had something going on last night. Unfortunately, I've got to go in again right now, and that's putting a damper on my mood a bit, but I'll make it through.

I love listening to the 92Q's (the hip-hop station's) Sunday morning gospel show. I might be pretty unreligious, but I just love that music. Non-crazed faith in others is inspiring.

Friday night was the Melissa Ferrick concert at The Funk Box. It was a stranger show than every before, for a few reasons:

1. I was drunk. The two 32-oz warmish Clipper City's at Cross Street did me in.

2. We sat right behind the speaker and the sound sucked.

3. The gimmick of this show was supposed to be a question-and-answer section in the middle of the show. I had imagined something like VH-1 Storytellers, but she was obviously uncomfortable with the session and it was cut way too short. Plus, I thought of all my questions well after the session.

4. I went with my friend Rob and a friend from work and her partner. It was my first time heading to a show with a lesbian couple. They're great, funny, laid-back people. The funniest moment of the night is when the partner asked me if I'd ever heard the story of how they met. I replied that, yes, I had heard they met at a wedding. But, she said, have you heard the bathroom story? Nope, I hadn't. Well, basically the bathroom story is simply that the two of them kept going to the bathroom during the (straight) wedding and making out, and that the girl I worked with didn't wear underwear to the wedding. But, she insisted, she was wearing pantyhose. Yes, the lesbian couple we went with was as drunk as I was, and it was a fun night.