Thursday, May. 06, 2004

End of an era, posted at 10:03 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I've now had twelve hours of reflection since the verdict. It already seems like it's been days since it happened. My conclusion is that I'm glad everything happened like it did - I'm glad he showed up, I'm glad I had a fair judge who let me state my facts without a lawyer, I'm glad the ruling was in my favor - but I don't want to dwell on it any more. It might be a cool story to tell, but, otherwise, I want to forget it happened. It's time to move on.

Today, my dad and I worked on the car a bit, then went to Little Havana for a few drinks and dinner. It was a great day for sitting outside and eating half-off nachos, and we took in the sun and the good news. A few friends stopped by to share in the happiness. I feel like I never see my friends any more, and today it felt very right.

Something that added to the happiness was a note on my car parked out on Key Highway that read, "Justice is served. America rules!" It was signed "guess who?". I'm not sure who did it, but I've got some guesses. It was funny and kind either way.

All in all, a great day. Won a $10,000 frivolous lawsuit, had dinner at Little Havana, even got a little buzz. Nice.

***

It was an end of an era tonight with the finale of Friends. I lost track of it in the last couple of years, but still caught an episode every now and then. I still watch reruns regularly and often laugh out loud.

Friends makes me think of high school. It started my sophomore year of high school, and it immediately became the water fountain show of my youth. It makes me think of Annie Tomlin and her crush on David Schwimmer. Friends ran all the way through high school and college, when getting together with the sister floor for Thursday night TV was often a ritual. This was a classic comedy, making me laugh out loud when it was running at top form.

Tonight, however, things seemed shrill and the actors seemed to be overacting. They must be so comfortable in the character that in order to stretch their acting muscles, they have to overact. I got some enjoyment out of it, though.