Monday, Mar. 22, 2004

First game cancelled, posted at 6:40 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Well, the team's first game was cancelled. It seems the other school can't field a team and didn't want to tell anyone until minutes before the game was to be played. It was a big bummer and I was pissed off, and I cancelled practice. It's not like it was baseball weather, anyway. Cold as hell out there. It was nice to have the afternoon off, as I hightailed it out of school right away and enjoyed an afternoon nap. That was much needed after my fairly late night last night and my early (5:45 am, awake at 4:45) trip to the gym before school this morning.

There isn't a whole lot more going on. But here's the scoop:

1. I've still digesting the news that the man who is suing me is a bad man who lies. I imagine this helps my case, but, without being able to afford a lawyer, I'm not sure what to do with the information. I've tried the avenues suggested by folks, so far to no avail. I might be able to physically afford it once the coaching money starts coming in, but right now I'm still scraping by after the car towing. Even when I will be able to afford it, I hate to do it, because I'm still struggling and will do so for some amount of time. I also hate it since I'm trying to afford prescription sports goggles that my eye surgeon recommends to protect the eyes from more detached retinas, and, if I hire a lawyer, it's basically because I've chosen to do that rather than something for my own health. The goggles will set me back $350, and the lawyer I imagine will be more. I don't want financial issues to seep into the summer and have another summer like last, when I was visiting Trader Joe's during the time free samples were handed out so I could eat meals.

2. This game is for those of you who are going to hell already anyway.

3. Really crummy day at the restaurant on Sunday. In fact, it was a crummy weekend all around. I got the worst section both days, and ended up working 4-12 for $70 on Saturday night and 9-4:30 for $46 during Sunday morning brunch. Really, it's not so much money - which, believe me, I'll take - but my time feels so monopolized right now that to work that much for that little really sucks. Is it worth falling behind on work and having legs that ache nonstop to get $116 over 16 hours? I probably should have just went on hiatus there while coaching, but wanted to insure I remained on staff and thought I'd still be able to use the money. Which I can, but being at school every day for over 12 hours and then working so long for so little on the weekend really wears on me. Really, it's the lack of days off. I can count on one hand the days I've had off this entire school year (other than the surgeries, which I don't think count).

4. Today, I found an excuse to play "Redemption Song" to my students. (It was my example song for the To Kill a Mockingbird soundtrack assignment.) They liked it, I think.

5. I'll be metnioned in the Baltimore Sun tomorrow, in the high school sports section.