Tuesday, Mar. 16, 2004

World famous author visits my classroom, posted at 9:00 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Had a really neat day today. E u g e n i a C o l l i e r came to my class to speak with them. The author of "Marigolds," one of my favorite short stories, she lives in Baltimore and is still active. I was extremely worried about her visit, because my students have been hellraisers lately, but they impressed me with their attentiveness and questions. One girl asked why she chose marigolds as the titular symbol for her story, and upon giving the answer, another boy raised his hand and asked, with a genuine grin on his face, if she had a garden herself. I loved that moment. She spoke about the place she was in her life when she wrote the story, gave advice to young writers, and was inspiring and enlightening. I was all nervous meeting her, as "Marigolds" is one of my favorite pieces that I teach, but she was a nice, regular woman who I enjoyed chatting with. One of the things that fascinate me in life is these people, like Collier, who pretty much have gained eternal life through writing one great piece. Her writing career is otherwise nondescript, at least in terms of sales, but these eight pages of beautiful prose that have been anthologized throughout the world have made her somewhat famous. This excellent little story will probably still continue to be read for decades, or even centuries, after she passes. She'll live on forever. I think that's cool. This is her gift to the world, and she'll never be forgotten because of it. Sort of like Richard Connell. He wrote his whole life, but the one piece that lived on is a short story called "The Most Dangerous Game" that almost everybody knows.

I know "Marigolds" so well that when she talked about a line in it, I recognized that the line never appeared in the story as it was in the Literature Anthology. Upon subsequent investigation, we saw that the publishers had cut the line. I was outraged along with her. That one line sort of changes the whole tone of the story from one of resilience and hope to one of utter desperation.

Uh, in rereading what I just wrote, I guess I'm sort of a geek...

Baseball coaching update: Not much else is new. Shitty "wintry mix" came into Baltimore last night and all of today, forcing an indoor pitcher-catcher only practice. I hope it gets warmer and drier, fast. We were so spoiled on Monday, playing on a field that was almost all the way dry and with warm, sunny weather. We probably won't have a dry field for another week.

First game is Monday. You all should come. We've got a great team.

Pet update: Tobey the cat is feeling very needy tonight and will not leave my lap, but that's okay, because there's something very reassuring about a purring cat around you. I'm attempting to teach Holden the dog the "hold a treat on the end of your nose while I say 'wait... wait... wait... alright!" trick.

Lawsuit update: Still scared as hell. Actually e-mailed a lawyer today. Dave sent me some links that were helpful.

Fitness update: Woke up early this morning, showered, then looked outside at the "wintry mix" and decided against the morning workout. I went this evening instead, forgetting my shorts, but having a better-than-decent chest workout and 40-minute cardio session in my Old Navy khaki pants. That's three days in a row that I've been good. Since I've gained way too much weight in this last hellish year, after losing the 112 pounds, I can't take any days off for a while until I get back into shape.

***

By the way, can anyone think of anything else to add to my list of guideliens for my team?:

Coach Epiphany's Guidelines:

1. On game days, we wear a shirt and tie, as well as non-jean pants and non-athletic shoes. No exceptions. If you do not adhere to the dress code, you will not dress for the game.

2. When we emerge from the locker room on game days, wear a complete uniform, including the hat. The shirt should be tucked into the pants and the black stockings showing. If it�s cold, wear a black turtleneck or athletic shirt underneath your jersey.

3. Do not eat during the game. The only consumable products on the bench are sunflower seeds, sports drinks, gum, and water. No candy, soda, or food.

4. Only team members on the bench. Team manager sits off to the side. No guests at all.

5. Don�t wear spikes indoors.

6. Do not make remarks to fans before or during a game. Your sole intent and focus should be on the activity of the field.

7. Hustle in and out of the dugout at all times. Know where you put your glove so that you can rush out.

8. Be on time. Don�t be late to meetings, practice, or buses.

9. Address umpires as �Mr. Blue� or �Sir.� Keep your gripes to the umpires to a minimum and watch your language at all times. You have a right to disagree, but you do not have a right to be disagreeable.

10. Remember, the term is student-athlete. Do not steal from your education by cutting class or by not doing schoolwork. If you cut class, do not expect to play.