Saturday, Feb. 21, 2004

Untrusting cynic?, posted at 4:28 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

The melancholy of last night has passed. I worked all day and made $44 waiting tables, and how can that not cheer a person up? Actually, it wasn't bad at all - working with a couple of other folks who have both lost their fulltime jobs in the last few months and are settling for waiting tables. They're exactly what I could have been, and still could be, if the layoffs occur.They're probably my two favorite co-workers there - both funny, laid-back people.

I'm not sure if I've informed everyone of what happened, but after the teachers rejected a paycut for the second time in a row, the state stepped in and bailed us out. Because I voted twice for the paycut, I feel used and spit out. Why the gloom and doom, the threats of 1200 layoffs unless you vote for the paycut. I voted for it as an ethical decision and out of conscience - I felt it more important to stay with my students for $35 less a week than be laid off and leave them stranded - but now I regret it. It was all just a farce to get teachers to shoulder a burden that we didn't create. I'm so glad my colleagues had the good sense that I didn't. I think my error is completely understandable, but it's not one I'll make again. Damn the man for making me an untrusting cynic.

Last night was chilled-out evening, and I think tonight might be slightly crazier. It's nights like these that I wish I lived in the Federal Hill area, because the thought about how I'm going to get home nine hours from right now is one I dread. I could take a cab both ways, spending $25 or so. I could drive and take a cab home, but then I wouldn't have a car to get to work in the morning. I could drive and just drink at first and then stop, but that doesn't seem too fun and is too risky. I could try to grab a ride from Bill, but I'm not sure what his plans are. We'll see.

Today, I received my interrogative from the lawyer in the lawsuit. I think that means I have to file mine very soon.