Friday, Feb. 20, 2004

Random music thoughts, posted at 12:41 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I bought the White Stripes album after seeing them on the Grammies and it's very good, bordering on incredible.

I have a $15 gift certificate to Soundgarden burning a whole in my pocket. There are a lot of albums I want right now - Patty Griffin's live album, Black Eyed Peas, Todd Snider's live album, Chingy, Taleb Kwali, Courtney Love's new album.

I wonder if I'm the only one in the country having to choose between Chingy and Patty Griffin?

I found a version of Tracy Chapman singing "The Times They Are a-Changing," and it's so inspiring and makes me want to be a hippy.

I am really in the mood for a Wally Pleasant concert.

I'm thinking about driving down to Jammin' Java to see Stephen Kellogg on Saturday. I've lived here three years and still have never been there, and Kellogg is a decent substitute for Wally.

Mary Lou Lord is coming to Baltimore on Tuesday to venue I've never heard of. I've been a fan for years and have never seen her live, and really want to go. It was one of the events highlighted in the City Paper this week. Hopefully I can get the night off. It's only $10 and she's playing with a band. If you don't know Mary Lou Lord, you might know her from her story - discovered busking in the streets, Kurt Cobain's girlfriend before Courtney, Elliot Smith pal, former major label artist. Then one of her songs was used in a Target commercial last year.

Michelle Shocked is coming to Baltimore at the end of the month, too. That's another life-long fan artist I've never seen live. "Anchorage" is still one of the best songs ever written.