Sunday, Feb. 08, 2004

Am I the only one who is really impressed with the Grammies tonight?, posted at 9:44 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

From the incredible opening appearance and performance by Prince and Beyonce, I was enthralled by the Grammies. Beyonce looked just like a young Tina Turner and seeing Prince dance and play guitar was loads of fun.

The show kept getting better and better - Dave Matthews singing the Beatles and never sounding better, Justin Timberlake and Arturo Sandobal grooving, and and an evocative performance by the White Stripes.

I got some goosebumps during "Where is the Love?", which was even better seeing live than hearing on the radio. What an incredible performance that was.

I can't believe how into mainstream music I am right now. Actually, I like the think that it's the Grammies that have changed, not me.

Wow, what an impressive lineup for song of the year. I would have hoped Eminem's "Lose Yourself" - the best song of the last decade - would have won, but I would have been happy with "Hey Ya!" - a song that blazes across radio formats with ease - winning.

***

And, on politics... I didn't see Bush today on Meet the Press, but I caught a radio replay of it later in the day. I thought he was very impressive. I really dislike the man, but he had me convinced about the war, and his comment that he had the same information that Congress had really resonated and caused some dissonance about my stance on Kerry. Kerry voted for the war, and is so wiggly about it whenever he's asked.

Anyhow, Bush really impressed me today, and I don't even like him. I don't see him losing, barring a major misstep. I basically like Kerry, but the only candidate I could see beating Bush is still Wes Clark. And he's dropping out of the race soon.

I'll definitely vote for Kerry - Bush scares the hell out of me on social issues, and has made my job teaching in an inner city high school even more dependent on testing rather than learning than it was already - but Bush sounded thoughtful and reflective with Tim Russert today. I like that. He defended his actions very well. He's going to be almost unbeatable.