Saturday, Dec. 06, 2003

Snowfall, posted at 12:46 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Last year, the first Thursday in December was our first big snow. This year, the first Friday of December was our first big one. School was cancelled yesterday, and another snowfall last night caused more ruckus today.

I'm still amazed by this area's attitude towards snow. We got about six inches of snow, yet there is 24-hour news coverage on television about the snow - going back and forth to different newscasters in the field who are interviewing people in Target parking lots about why they're out at the snow, and reminding us over and over again to clear off the entire car before driving. It's all pretty dumb, and it's rare times like this morning where I miss cable. I'll also probably miss it tomorrow night, when Angels in America premieres on HBO. Maybe I'll go over to Teri's house.

Even though school was cancelled, I didn't get the day off. I had decided a while ago to spend the money and go to a Baseball Coaching Clinic held in Rockville, MD. Unfortunately for my ass in Baltimore, the Clinic was not snowed out, so I had to still travel down to it if I wanted to get anything for the money I spent. The drive took almost two hours in the snow, but the clinic was good. I bought a few videos and books, and listened to some good sessions. This guy was particularly good.

I'm thinking more and more that I will be the head baseball coach, and getting more and more excited and nervous about it. In all honesty, the first year will be rocky. I'm not sure the year that I'm working two jobs is the best year to take this on. But, on the other hand, I have one prep and 7th period free, so that will help. I'll probably have to quit the waiting job - or at least limit myself to weekends - to do it.

Right now, I'm debating whether or not to write a Christmas letter. I did one last year, and enjoyed it, but I've been looking back a lot lately at this year, and have been realizing that, for the most part, the year has sucked. My financial state continues to suck and, though better than August, I still look at bills coming in two weeks and wonder how I'm going to pay them and buy Christmas presents for people. I'm hoping some stability will come, and I know that it will, but I still am slightly stressed about it. In addition, I'm feeling far more desolate than I ever have since I moved to Baltimore. I'm disconnected from my friends because I'm so busy, and that sucks. Add in the fact that the one thing I have taken great pride in the last few years - my health - has been severely compromised by my eye surgeries, then, well, I'm just not wanting to restate it again in a Christmas letter or even try to put a fake positive spin on it.

That's it. Gotta work tonight, so I better go.