Tuesday, Dec. 02, 2003

Eight items, posted at 2:15 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Quick updates:

1. Thanksgiving was a lot of fun over at friends' house. It was nice to be with people that I genuinely enjoy and value, especially when I couldn't be with family.

2. My first trial with Tofurkey (could never find it other years) was superb. It's amazing what they can do with that wonder-substance. People who say they don't like tofu should realize it's like saying they don't like beans - there are so many different ways to prepare it and so many different varieties, that you can't lump it all together.

3. Internet access is still fleeting, if at all.

4. I had the night off last night, so spent some time organizing my book shelf, something I rarely do. I have 17 books by Anne Tyler, and have only read two of them (and liked them both). I guess The Book Thing always has some of them, and I always grab them so I can read them someday when I have time.

5. I worked a lot this past weekend, and did pretty well. Since I can only see out of one eye and have no depth perception, I sometimes mess up a little, like I'll reach for a glass and realize it's too far for me to get, or pour water and dribble a little over the edge. This, of course, gives me an opportunity to apologize and explain that I just had eye surgery and can't see very well (the eye is still bloody, so it's not a stretch). If they press, I tell them the truth, that the second job is paying for my special eyeglasses I'll have to wear. Many of them also notice my "English teacher by day / Waiter by night" motto under my name on my order book, and that also gels conversation. Whatever I can do to create it usually helps. I met a surgeon the other day who told me all about my retinal detachment and what I should be doing. Then, he tipped me very well.

6. School is still somewhat sad, with the layoffs. I don't think this is too much information because it's a common name, but one of the guidance counselor's names is "Reed," and kids have put up handmade signs that say "Ne*ed Reed" all over the school. Both the sophomores (Bill's class) and seniors (Reed's class) had tearful class meetings yesterday. It sucks around here, but it's dampening. Bill is such a good guy. I drove him to the airport on Wednesday, the day after the layouts were announced, and I tried telling him how sorry I was to see him go, and it was coming out all stammeringly and meanderingly wrong, and he said something to me like "Uh oh, I think I hear a speech coming on... you don't have to say it, and thanks" and we went out for a beer with Kristin and Doug and then off to the airport.

7. I am seriously considering going to the Wesley Clark Meetup meeting tonight here in Baltimore. I might rather stick around and watch the Peanuts Christmas Special (though it will probably make me cry, and it's too early for Christmas) or The Tracy Morgan Show (I really liked him on SNL, but worry that his kids on this show will be too sitcom-cutesy) or The Simple Life (doubt I could sit through a whole episode - I hate reality shows - but I want to know what they're talking about on Howard Stern tomorrow). I definitely won't miss 24, anyway.

8. I had an observation yesterday, and it went quite well. There's still a bunch of controversy and turmoil at my school. A certain alumni Su*n columnist came into my classroom for a brief moment. We'll see what he writes about...