Friday, Oct. 10, 2003

Heading on trip, posted at 1:59 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I leave tomorrow to spend five days on the Appalacchian Trail on an Outward Bound trip, with eleven students and two instructors. I'm very excited to get out of town for a bit, away from the mountain of papers on my desk and the mess of my classroom.

This is my third year in a row taking the trip. It always comes at such an opportune time, as I really believe that October is one of the hardest months of the school year. It's the month where you have to throw away your idealism that you'll be able to stay ahead of all your work. You realize that no matter how well-planned you were, you're going to fall behind. You'll have to bring work home and stay late after school. October is the month that reminds you of this. In September, you can usually stay ahead of that big truck.

Plus, there are no breaks to look forward to until Thanksgiving. Teachers look forward to a long weekend like an oasis in a desert, and there are none in October at all.

My year is going frustratingly right now. Working two jobs has been grueling at times. I'm tired all the time and am having a hard time fending off colds. It's been sort of a rough year so far. I don't like seeing students every day, because it's so tough to form bonds with them. I've seen my students only ten times each. Ten times! That's ridiculous, as it's mid-October. Ugh.

So I feel like I really need this break. See you all on Thursday.