Thursday, Oct. 02, 2003

It's getting cold outside, posted at 7:42 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Feeling so busy lately. I assigned my students some quiet work because it is the only quiet in my life right now.

Tomorrow morning, I send eight kids out in the mountains for an Outward Bound trip. It's been an odyssey getting the trip ready, and the fact that I'm not going until my trip on the 11th makes it feel not as worth it. I realized today that while I did the medical forms and the parent permission forms, I didn't do the permission forms for the teachers. So, I received a somewhat pointed phonecall today from the tough Latin teacher, and I pleaded my case about the hurricane messing up plans and apologized profusely, and then it happened again later in the day with another teacher. I guess teachers don't like being informed by their students that they'll be gone for five days without getting the notice first. Oops. I felt a bit like a numbskull.

Hopefully it will all pan out. I heard a rumor today that one of the kids is dropping out, and I hope this isn't the case. That would take me down to seven on this trip, which is a low number to go. If this happens, I will pull the "You're an International Baccalaureate student, and you're dropping out of a longstanding commitment on the day of?" and hope it works.

Tonight was the first 9th grade After School Event. I'm trying to formulate some sort of curriculum-related program that targets our at-risk kids and keeps them in school just a little bit longer. We showed Of Mice and Men, and 101 kids (1/4 of the entire freshmen class) showed up. I spent way too much money providing them with refreshments, and they left a mess and chattered a lot, but overall it was a success. I've got to keep telling myself that, at least.

I'm entirely uncomfortable with the baseball coaching situation. I'm not sure how many people the guy has told, so I haven't told hardly anybody. But my fear is that I don't play the politics game well enough or don't make myself noticed enough, and that they'll go and hire someone else. I'm already planning on investing much time and and some money (like a $65 workshop over a weekend in December) on getting this position, but I'd like some sort of flag that I should invest those two items, and some hope, into it. I'm very tentative about it right now.

I overslept this morning, meaning I'm heading to the gym this evening instead. Off I go...