Wednesday, Oct. 01, 2003

Good day with kids, posted at 12:44 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

My students today had to elect a Student Government representative. The girl who has reminded me about it and has seemed interested from the beginning didn't win. I feel like these kids get the same sort of shock that many of us got at college. There, everyone was in the top ten of their high school, so you were nothing special. Here, it's the same thing. Three kids in my first period were the former class presidents in the 8th grade. Only one of them could be the rep.

I feel bad about it. Plus, the kids who I thought should win didn't. I counted up the votes during my lunch period. It almost made me want to pull a Matthew Broderick from Election and fix the election.

But then I realized that I'm better than the Supreme Court.

Speaking of Election (which, by the way, is the most realistic filmic depiction of teachers/high school ever), I have a girl who, when she raises her hand, reminds me of Reese Witherspoon raising her hand in that film. Today, she wanted to read so badly, and I just didn't want to call on her. So, I did the thing that teachers do when they're sick of calling on people - I had the last kid who read call on someone else. It helps the kids take control of the classroom and all that other jazz, but, really, I just did it because it's exhausting to keep calling on kids, to keep making decisions on who should be the next one to read. Anyhow, I would interrupt after a few paragraphs and say, "Okay, next reader." With this girl, though, I waited only two sentences, and said, "Okay, next reader." She looked at me, and asked if I was serious, and then I just burst out laughing and told her I was just messing with her. She's a sweet kid and I knew I could joke around with her.

I also kept inadvertently cutting this girl off, then I started doing it on purpose just for an easy laugh. I think it made for a little bonding moment with the girl. I had a lot of fun with the kids today, and they even learned something.

Tomorrow will be the first of the 9th grade after school events, a showing of Of Mice and Men. I think it might draw 150 kids, which would be amazing.

I have to work at the restaurant tonight, and I am tired.