Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003

Power, posted at 3:30 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Five days later, my power is finally back on, as of last night. It's so nice to be able to walk in my house at today, so everything is just about back tonight without stubbing my toe, to eat a meal without eating out, and to not have to rely on someone else to call and wake me up instead of my alarm clock.

School was even back in session normal. I taught the "B" day of a lesson on revision, a week after I'd taught the "A" day version of it. Most of the kids remembered their homework, despite their lengthy respite from school.

I got up this morning at 4:45 am to head to the gym. It felt so great to get up early and do it. I now feel like I can go home and relax a little bit, lesson plan, and cozy up to the season premieres of Ed and The West Wing without feeling guilty. I'm now pretty tired, since I didn't go to sleep until after midnight, but I think I'll grab an hour nap when I get home and then face the rest of the afternoon rejuvenated. I will spend much of the afternoon cleaning out my refrigerator, mowing the lawn, and picking up the mess from my house concert on Friday. I haven't had any daylight time at home to clean over the last few days, so I'll be able to tonight.

I made $90 last night at the restaurant and today scoffed at a colleague's notion that, "You know you're going to have to quit that job soon, don't you?"