Monday, Aug. 25, 2003

How was the weekend?, posted at 12:19 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

This is my first opportunity to get to a computer in a few days. A few updates:

1. I had two training shifts at the new restaurant job over the weekend, and I must say that I'm enjoying it a great deal. Not to be immodest, but I really think I'm an excellent employee to hire. I almost immediately begin taking pride in not only my work, but also my establishment, whether it be Cuppa Java or Baltimore City Public Schools or Bob's Processing. Ze Mean Bean is a somewhat fancy restaurant, and I have to wear a shirt and tie to work, but the managers and staff seem fairly laid back. There's a homey, rootsy feeling to the place. I haven't made any tips yet, but yesterday for Sunday brunch one of my new co-workers made $69 in tips. That's much less than one would make for a dinner shift, too. I admit I'm a little worried about balancing teaching with a second job, and will not let it affect my teaching, but the prospect of being able to claw my way out of eyes-deep debt is very enticing. Also, as mushmouse says, girls might be impressed with a guy who knows a lot about wine and fine dining. I have a test over the menu on Wednesday, and have been busy with flashcards like I haven't been since Psychology 101. Wish me luck.

2. I am into Myla Goldberg's The Bee Season like I haven't been into a book in ages. I'm amazed by Goldberg's fierceness, her eloquence. It's the type of book where I have to underline an amazing line or passage on almost every other page. I plowed through 200 pages over the weekend, and should finish it tonight. I can't explain much more about the book. It's just outstanding.

3. Big thanks to Vicky for the new .jpg on the top of this journal. My cousin wants me to let you know that she's still working on the "3rd," but I told her not to worry about it because I couldn't tell. Afterwards, I opened up my [email protected] e-mail account, and Wyllow and TerminalFrost had both also sent me my requested photo alterations. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

4. I've been concentrating on cleaning up at home, now that I have two days left in the summer. My new roommate, who I haven't met yet, drives in from Tennessee tomorrow, so I need to have everything done by then. Since I work all night tonight, that means tomorrow is going to be a clean, clean, clean day.