Thursday, Aug. 21, 2003

Setting up the ol' classroom, posted at 1:56 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Today I made it into my classroom, and am spending some time setting it up. We don't have to be in for another six days, during which we'll get three days to do what I'm doing now, but I'm bored and need some activity to fill my days at this point. No temp work today, and the new restaurant job doesn't start until the weekend. I've just been concentrating on not spending any money (not too hard when you don't have any to spend), reading (currently well into Myla Goldberg's The Bee Season, which I found in the clutter that is The Book Thing, the free bookstore here in Baltimore, last weekend. So far, it's really good), and lapping up any human companionship I can muster. Yesterday, I hung out at school in the computer lab, with the 60s-ish computer lab teacher who looks and even acts a bit like Momma from Throw Momma From the Train. Her curmudgeonry (sp?) attitude has grown on me over the last two years, and when she received a call from a downtown law firm to come pick up some free computers, I gladly went along to help her move them. She chain-smoked the whole way, but she's an engaging woman nonetheless.

Later, Bill called and asked if I wanted to hang out a bit, watching the Orioles and drinking beer on his couch. I gladly did, bringing over six random beers from my fridge. We watched the Orioles clobber the Devil Rays, then walked down to the Thirsty Dog (quickly becoming my favorite Baltimore establishment. Last night, we found out that the [hot] waitress was an alma mater at the school we work at), where Bill somehow ate two of their little pizzas while I chugged (free) water. Two of the girls who played on our softball team met up with us, and we headed over to Rope Walk, where they both work, and we were able to score a round of free drinks. So, I spent $0 last night. Yay for me.

Today, after leaving school (and, to be honest, I'm not doing that much work here), I hope to complete the move of my bedroom from the nasty basement up to the middle floor. It might be a little weird during house concerts, but now that I'm in a state of roommate transition, now seems the best time to do it. By the way, I don't think I mentioned on here that I found a roommate - a 22-year old kid who is interning at the Baltimore Sun through the calendar year. He's already sent me a deposit and the first month's rent, and will pay for the ad to find his replacement when he leaves. He seems eager and earnest, and I hope it works out. I haven't met him yet, as he's moving from Tennessee, but meeting Christian (the last one) first certainly did not deter him from screwing me over 4 months after he'd moved in.

I guess I'm getting old, because I'm calling someone who is 22 years old a "kid."

****

Today, an entry in the guestbook prompted me to look at the Save Holden page. Unbeknowst to me, someone has helped me out with my current financial crisis using the paypal button. I'm simply overwhelmed by their kindness. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

****

A couple of logistical issues that some of you may be able to help me with:

1. My Holden's Lair page remains un-updated, because I no longer have Internet at my house. I've done all the design on the page with Microsoft Dreamweaver, a program I got from a friend many years ago and never had the disc to. I just make the changes on Dreamweaver and ftp them over to my webspace, which is still through my alma mater of MSU. (I'd heard you only get 2 years beyond graduation, but so far they haven't taken it away.) Now, with the computer at home not hooked up to the Internet, I'm not sure how to update my page. Does anyone have any ideas?

2. I noticed the other day that the beautiful picture on the top of this journal says a "second year teacher," and in approximately six days, this will be a lie. I will be a 3rd-year teacher. But without photoshop on this computer here at school, I can't change it. Would anyone like to, and then mail it to me so I can update? Victoria?