Thursday, Aug. 14, 2003

I like John Kerry, still don't like money though, posted at 11:38 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I am feeling very fat lately. The scale doesn't say so, but I feel like I've gained about 20 pounds this summer. I feel puffy. My workout schedule has not been as diligent as during the school year, as I'm a person who thrives on a regular schedule, and I can't seem to stay motivated. I've got a lot of things on my mind, obviously, but I'm worried that since my Bally's subscription lapsed (saving me $48/month), I'll not work out with as much diligence as I have come to expect out of myself. I need to get into a running schedule again, that's for sure.

I can't stand being in my house lately. With no TV (I still have not figured out how to get network channels with no hookup, even though my roommate can get them upstairs) and no Internet, there is nothing to do except read. I picked up a bunch of EBay magazine subscriptions for amazingly cheap prices (Time magazine, 3 years for $5; Entertainment Weekly, 2 years for $12; Blender, 1 year for $6; Men's Health, 3 years for $11; Men's Fitness, 1 year for $4) and have been reading them all cover to cover. I know more about our political landscape right now than I have since the last presidential election. I've also been reading novels like crazy, finishing Fraxedes' The Lonely Crossing of Juan Cabrera and Alexis' The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven and beginning (and almost finishing) Ethan Frome yesterday. I also listen to the radio constantly, too, since that's free. I've been listening to NPR, and then this station right next to NPR that has presidential candidates speaking all the time.

By the way, I still like Kuchinich, whose politics are probably the closest to mine. But out of the candidates who have a chance, John Kerry is really striking a chord with me. He's a riveting speaker, knows his shit, and seems to have quality positions on all issues that are important to me. I basically like Dean, and enjoy how he's galvanized so many people to his campaign, but his stance of capital punishment is something I cannot reconcile myself with (out of all the candidates for President, only Kerry and Sharpton are against the death penalty) and Gale has convinced me that he's somewhat of an opportunist.

Okay, so my rent was due on Aug. 1. My car's insurance cancalled on Aug. 9. I have a court date on Aug. 18 about when I was driving without insurance and fixed it within the necessary 3 days, but Geico did not fax the paperwork like they were supposed to so I have a courtdate about it. It probably will look really bad now that it's lapsed again. It's just that there's nothing I can do about it. I've stopped driving, so at least that risk is away, but I'm still worried. I'm not sure what to tell my landlord or what to do about the insurance thing. My longterm financial stress seems to be alleviated, but my shortterm has not. I'm still broke and wondering what to do. Luckily, I've worked almost every day of August so far here at school, and have three more days of work to do, but finding another job has so far been impossible. I needed $750 by Aug. 1, $461 by Aug. 9, and will need another $750 by Sept. 1. That doesn't account for electricity & heat (due Aug. 11) or water (due Aug. 20) or my car payment (I'm a payment behind). I think I have found a roommate, which will be good for $600 of it, and I get paid tomorrow (probably only $500 or so) and then again on Aug. 29 (probably a bit more), but, sadly, I might have to ask the 'rents for another loan, this one a shortterm loan to go along with my longterm loan. Ugh. I so don't want to.

At least it's my birthday tomorrow.