Saturday, Jul. 26, 2003

Time in South Haven, posted at 12:32 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm going to put the financial stuff on the back burner for a few days and try to enjoy this trip to Michigan. I think I'm going to try to sit my parents down at the end of the weekend and have a serious conversation with them about money and ask for advice. I'll hope and pray that they do not get critical, which they tend to be (especially dad). We'll see.

Tomorrow is my dad's retirement party. Tons of people I haven't seen in years are coming, and I have to admit I'm rather excited. He's retiring after 25 years as a police officer, and, while it's hard to imagine my 51-year old dad as a retiree, I'm happy for him. I'm sure he'll get restless after about five days and find something else to do with his time besides trying to trap chipmunks who are chewing up his new patches of grass seed. My cousin is up for the weekend, and tomorrow hundreds of other relatives and friends are embarking on South Haven.

The trip home so far has been up and down. There's too much dysfunction and tension in the family, and it seems rare to have everyone getting along. That's happened for very few isolated moments on the trip so far, and that's too bad. My sister seems to rather spend time with her friends then with me, and this is crummy because this is my only trip home all year other than Christmas. My parents aren't much better, as they're headed off for a post-retirement trip up north for five days on Tuesday, meaning they'll be gone for much of my only week home all year this year. I'm trying to make the best of things, but am feeling pretty upset by it all.

I'm sunburned today, and it's making me more tired than usual. I think I'm going to bed now. Tomorrow I'm going to tear it up at the retirement party, so I need the rest.

Coming soon: Italy pictures. Got them developed yesterday (thanks mom!) and I can't wait to share. Believe me, it was amusing trying to explain that crazy night in Rome.