Saturday, May. 10, 2003

Scary night, posted at 2:20 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Last night was frightening.

I went to Happy Hour after school with some co-workers. One of them, whom I'll call Red, asked me for a ride. I reluctantly agreed, because I know she has a tendency to get really drunk. Last night, she was on a mission. She is officially breaking up with her husband this week; in fact, he was moving out his things when I picked her up.

The night got worse and worse as it went on. Red drank until she could barely stand, and was making advances on me all night. Now, she's a genuinely kind person who is bright and has been through a lot (addiction, suicide attempts, a failed marriage). But she's 42, has anger issues that could fill a phone book, and is neither my type or anywhere near my age.

My friends giggled when I told them I had driven her. Bill leaned over and whispered, "I just hope to see you still intact tomorrow." Skip a beat. "As well as your penis."

Then, throughout the night, she kept making comments like, "He'd be entirely sexy if he weren't a vegetarian" or "If he didn't like sports, he'd be perfect." It was awful. I was terrified about the drive home.

Luckily, I got a friend to ride in the backseat to "chaperone" activities. It's all for the best. If she had made a formal advance, it would have embarassed her just as much as I once we came back to work on Monday.

All in all, it was a very stressful evening, complete with plenty of friends' needling and borderline sexual harassment.

***

I have a house concert tonight, and I'm almost convinced it will be the smallest crowd ever. You Baltimore area folks, throw me a bone. Come on over. :)