Wednesday, Apr. 30, 2003

16-15, posted at 9:59 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

We lost a heartbreaking one today. Actually, we lost both ends of a doubleheader, but the first one was a heartbreaker in a different type of way: we just played badly. But the second game was a nail-biter to the end, a 16-15 slugfest that saw my kids keep coming and coming but just falling short. They showed a lot of heart. I was happy with my mid-game speech - I even used the phrase "pissed off" (as in, "You all should be very pissed off right now about what they did to you just then" [they stole bases with a 15-3 lead and elbowed a guy running around the bases, pure bullshit stuff]) - and the kids came out of the gate roaring.

I arrived at school at around 7:30, and didn't leave until 9pm. What a long day. I'm drained right now, and very thankful that I planned the next two weeks out in my classes.

Tonight's The West Wing leads me to believe that the show is back on track. I hate reality TV so much. It has decimated my television viewing where now I only have 3 or 4 appointment shows every week.