Friday, Apr. 04, 2003

At least it's Friday, posted at 7:21 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Well, I haven't done anything about the whole suing thing yet. I was felled by a smug cold on Wednesday night, and called in sick on Thursday. I slept until around 3pm, then stumbled around until it was time to go to the long planned Dan Bern concert that night. The concert was as much fun as could be expected when I had a cold that bad, but I my friend had bought me a ticket a month before and I couldn't refuse. I kept drinking water and sucking on lemons, because I had a vague idea that sucking on lemons was good for a sore throat. Somehow, I doubt that it is.

I felt a bit better this morning, and went in. My students were horrified at my frog-like voice, and Boston Betty came and felt my earlobe and proclaimed me feverish. I probably should have taken today off, too, but it was our first baseball game of the season (after five rainouts) and I didn't want to miss it.

I made it through the day, drinking gallons of water and getting some sympathetic good behavior from my kids - even 7th period, my most challenging class, was angelic. The game wasn't fun. The other team was horrible. Not even in a fun Bad News Bears way, but in a "damn, why does it happen that one city school can be so much worse at a sport than another" type of way. We scored 13 runs in the first inning, then played all our benchwarmers and ended up winning 17-0. Our pitcher threw a no-hitter. It sounds like this would be fun, but it wasn't. The whole time, I worried about the other team, that we were crushing their desire to play or something. It was also fucking cold, and I felt like hell.

I'm now back home, watching my first Tigers game in probably eight months on WGN. They're playing in Chicago, and it's making me cold just watching them.

So, yes, I have not done anything about the letter from the lawyer, the one about the lying dogbite man suing me for my negligence. I don't want to go through the hassle of getting a lawyer, but I will. I'm not sure when in my 15-hour baseball season day that I'm supposed to do this, but I'll manage. Someone at work suggested today that I file a police report that the guy was trespassing, and I probably will do that this weekend. That seems easy enough. Gale made a call for me and sent me an e-mail with some advice that I'll try to follow up on when I come up for air. I'm just pissed about it and hoping nothing bad comes of it. I pick up Holden tomorrow, so at least he'll be home soon. I'm excited about that.

I'm disappointed lately that my diary has become devoid of self-reflection and is entirely of the "this is what I did today" variety. I've gotta work on that. Along with everything else.

Ugh. Ugh. Ugh.