Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003

B, double E, double R, U, N (Todd Snyder show), posted at 12:52 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I should really go to concerts more often. It's 1am, and I need to get some sleep, but I wanted to document my thoughts before they all fluttered from my mind. Most already have, in fact.

First of all, Stephen Kellogg. Wow. He may be joining my eschelon of favorite artists soon. An incredible voice and romantic lyrics that really grab my soul. His show is goofy and laid-back (there are kazoos), and his easy-going vibe is something I want to see for a full show instead of these short opening sets like tonight or Melissa Ferrick. He puts on a great show.

And Todd Snider is no slouch, either. Though he uses it to good effect, his voice is wrecked to the point where he could do Bobcat Goldwaithe impressions. He obviously comes with no setlist. But, that's okay, because he is a great songwriter who knows how to make his songs speak. His off-kilter sense of humor and view of the world hearkened to Dan Bern or Jill Sobule, while his sound is a Tom Petty meets John Prine. Todd Snyder has the ability to make you grin or provoke your mind or your heart with a well-turned lyric, or get you singing along even if you don't know the song. I'm glad that Andi and Rob have turned me on to his live shows, which are fun nights full of huge music fans and great songs.

Tomorrow, Rose Polenzani plays at Towson for a free show, and I may go, especially if I can find someone to go with. I'm still offended that she thought my spaghetti sauce was too garlic-y, though.

I'm so tired, this is going to be a long week. If baseball season didn't start yesterday, it might be a good day for a personal day tomorrow. But, alas, no. Exhaustion will be creeping in by tomorrow afternoon.