Tuesday, Feb. 25, 2003

My e-mail got published, posted at 8:45 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

My e-mail about The Pianist was published today! How exciting! Go look at it here.

Not too much else is new. I had my post-observation meeting with my department head, and it was so nice to hear the things she said - that I'm valued at the school, that she hopes I stay for a long time, that I am a true professional who is always looking to try new things in the classroom. My winds were in my sails from the meeting and from the sense of relief because I was done with my formal observation for the year. Then, the Assistant Principal - a woman who I like but, to be honest, is pretty intimidating - informed me that my department head had observed me in error and she actually had to formally observe me. So I have to do it all over again. It's because I'm up for tenure, so she told me it's a good thing and it's not because they're worried about me, but it's just one more thing I have to worry about. Plus, I'm worried because my observed lesson on Valentine's Day was so good that I feel like I might have caught lightning in the bottle a little. I'm sure I'll be more nervous in front of this other woman than I was my department head, and I'm not sure if my students will be as good.

But we'll see. I'm not too worried.

In other news, baseball practice starts on Monday, and there is a foot of snow on the ground still. There are rumors that another foot is on the way for Wednesday and Thursday. Ugh.

24 is back on. Gotta go. It's an intense episode.

I'm back. Wow, great episode.

And I took a quiz today. Which poet are you? (It came up with 5, I guess that means I'm many-faceted.)


You are William Shakespeare
You have a certain eloquence and stoicism about you that is juxtaposed at times with a most peculiar sense of humor. Your world is orderly and simultaneously romantic. You are able to note beauty in the old and the new. Just keep in mind that passion and order are often at opposite ends of the spectrum.

Take the Which Poet are You? Quiz - brought to you out of boredom and pretention!
Paste this onto your LiveJournals or webpages and spread the name of your poet!

You are Maya Angelou
You have a strong sense of self and have faith in your abilities. You are an optimist and believe that things can get better if people work together. You also have faith in humanity.

Take the Which Poet are You? Quiz - brought to you out of boredom and pretention!
Paste this onto your LiveJournals or webpages and spread the name of your poet!

You are Alfred Lord Tennyson
You are very analytical and like to debate. You want truth and beauty. For you, it seems that every cloud has a silver lining. You believe it is better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.

Take the Which Poet are You? Quiz - brought to you out of boredom and pretention!
Paste this onto your LiveJournals or webpages and spread the name of your poet!

You are T.S. Eliot
Your are introspective and have an affinity for creatures that purr. You also have a tendency to doubt yourself. You can see the beauty in the world - don't let it pass you by!

Take the Which Poet are You? Quiz - brought to you out of boredom and pretention!
Paste this onto your LiveJournals or webpages and spread the name of your poet!

You are Carl Sandburg
You see the world in a different way than your peers and are able to find beauty in the most unusual places!

Take the Which Poet are You? Quiz - brought to you out of boredom and pretention!