Thursday, Feb. 13, 2003

Meijer Thrifty Acres, posted at 10:50 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

One thing that Baltimore truly needs is a Meijer. I just drove out to Target, thinking they were open until 11pm, because I needed to buy some Valentine's candy, paper, and audiocassette tapes for my class tomorrow. I arrived at 10:06, and was disappointed to realize they close at 10. I know of nowhere in Baltimore where I can get all of the above items after 10pm, so I dejectedly drove home.

Back in Michigan, we have Meijer, a fabulous grocery and department store that is open 24 hours, 364 days a year. It is a college student ritual to make a 1am run for whatever is needed - milk, bread, beer, a new sweater, batteries - or just to go and traverse the aisles to fight ennui. My parents met at a Meijer. It's a part of my heritage.

Baltimore has nothing of the sort. I have seen a Super Walmart in West Virginia that reminded me of a Meijer, but that is over two hours away. So, I guess my students don't get tapes tomorrow. They get some candy, though. I'll make sure and stop at the grocery store on the way in.

***

I used to be one of those who hated Valentine's Day, because I never had anyone. But I feel no purple clouds creeping into my head this year about it. I am content. I don't know where the hell my love life is going right now, but I do know that I'm not a lonely person and will end up finding my perfect someone. Three years ago, I was convinced that I would end up alone. No longer. I'll probably even wear a tie with hearts on it tomorrow. I might ask Kristin if she wants to go out tomorrow night. Or maybe Renee. Or maybe we'll just make a big shindig of it. For a moment, I had thoughts of going to the movies, but I do admit that doing that alone on Valentine's Night would be depressing as hell. I'll save that for my Sunday matinees.

***

Formal observation tomorrow. I'm not nervous. I feel like my flow was going well all week and tomorrow will not flow as well, but I'm still confident. I am on the verge of cocky, in fact. I have to suppress that, but I do think that my version of being cocky is just another man's version of confident. My supervisor seems to like me. She says, "I'm not worried about yours at all, I just want to get it out of the way early," and I trust her.

Then, a three day weekend.