Tuesday, Feb. 11, 2003

Oscars 2003, posted at 5:22 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I get so excited on Oscar nomination day, only to always be disappointed by the academy's lack of balls.

So, yes. Chicago was good. I loved it, in fact. But the most nominations? No way. It's not even one of the five best films of the year. Ugh.

Antwone Fisher doesn't get one nomination? I guess the academy likes its black actors in the villain roles, and when Denzel stars and directs a film far superior to the one he was nominated for (Training Day), it's ignored. This film should have scored three acting nominations.

Things I like: The Best Supporting Actor category is universally strong. John C. Reilly and Chris Cooper, two of my favorite actors for years now, were both nominated. Kathy Bates, who I would probably pay to read a phone book, was nominated again. Richard Gere wasn't nominated, saving Chicago from an undeserved major award sweep. "Lose Yourself" was nominated for Best Song, and if it doesn't win, I'll scream. The Lord of the Rings snuck in for a nomination as Best Picture after many had predicted that it would not. The Hours has a slew of nominatins, including Ed Harris.

Things I didn't like: Zellweggar's turn was not one of the five best of the year. Yes, she pulled it off. But she wasn't radiant, she didn't transcend (Zeta-Jones did). A Best Original Screenplay for My Big Fat Greek Wedding? Huh? For a warmed over 90-minute sitcom that relied on ethnic stereotypes for laughs?

Sometimes, I don't understand what how the Academy functions. Nicholson's performance in About Schmidt was alright, but he never transcended his persona. Mel Gibson, in Signs, did. Heck, Eminem, in 8 Mile, did. Both were riveting. Nicholson was just okay.

I've still got to see The Pianist. I'm sure I'll have more to say later.