Monday, Feb. 17, 2003

26 inches of snow, posted at 9:25 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

The snow, which finally stopped falling, is ridiculous. Holden got stuck outside trying to go to the bathroom, so I threw on my shoes and tried to get him in my shorts and a t-shirt. It was freezing. Duh. He finally came out of his spot. I think he was afraid to move in fear of falling in deeper, but I cajoled him into struggling out.

Needless to say, school is already cancelled for tomorrow. We had a field trip - my first ever as a teacher - but I'm glad for the five-day weekend. Even though I can't even leave the house, I've gotten much housework done, and will continue doing it into the night. That last point became necessary, as a prospective roommate is coming to look at the place in the morning. He's moving up from Orlando because his company transferred him. He actually seems pretty cool, so it might work out. Things are working out fine with the other new roommate. He's a bit strange and we don't have much in common, but he's also a decent guy who is refreshingly laid back. I've been so used to my roommate being a good friend, so not hanging out a whole lot has been a bit jarring. He's pretty much set himself upstairs and left the middle floor to me. I wish he hung out more downstairs, but maybe the new guy will. His huge dog has been a nice addition to the household, that's for sure.

Goals for tomorrow:

1. Continue cleaning. (Get stuff ready for a yard sale the first nice Saturday of the year.)

2. Grade essays (First time with my new "tape record my comments" method, I'm excited.)

3. Begin portfolio. (Lame evaluation system for teachers that the city has in place because our union is so weak.)