2002-01-07

Meeting goes well, posted at 4:35 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Entry #2 today:

The meeting with the principal and my supervisor went very well. I was worried, but it indeed was routine, and actually was wholly positive. He says I'm right where I should be, and said I'm really doing well. He told me it's a steep learning curve this year, but that it will get easier, but that he was pleased with my progress. I also look forward to getting involved with the baseball team.

It was an okay day. My lessons went well, and I enjoyed the kids a lot today. I joked with them and had a great time. Theyall laugh at me. It's probably more "with" me, but I realize that sometimes I'm just a big goofy white guy to them. They try to imitate my laugh, and say I laugh at everything. It's nice to have people comment on my laugh again. I guess that's a sign that I'm laughing my distinctive chuckle often enough so they can get a read on it. And laughing is good for the soul. They amuse me so much.

The meeting made me more and more excited about next semester. I'm instilled with a greater sense of confidence now, and look forward to my plans for the semester. When I've said in here before that I'm planning on being a "bastard hard-ass," I was exaggerating. The basic tenants of my personality and educational philosophy prevent this from happening. However, I look forward to being better organized, to having clearer expectations, and to remaining as consistent as possible. I think the kids will respond well. I love this semester schedule thing; it's sort of like getting two first years of teaching in one. I get to start all fresh with new kids on Jan. 28. Ninety eager freshmen. Woo-hoo.

My afternoon was taken up by a mundane departmental meeting, during which I made a successful presentation, plus a meeting with a parent of an unruly student. I had been trying to get a hold of her all year, leaving messages at the incorrect phone number the girl gave me. I wrote her up for the second time last week, and she's been serving in school suspensions since that time. I finally got to meet her mother, and spent a good twenty minutes watching the girl get yelled at by mom for her behavior. She deserved it.

I'm nervous about getting involved with the baseball team. I love baseball and know it well, but never was all that great and only played a couple years in high school. I've never coached before. We shall see how it goes.

I'm heading home now, getting a ride from another teacher home. Where I expect to have a big fat ticket on my illegally parked car that I can't move anyway.