2001-12-18

Random week-before-Christmas thoughts, posted at 8:22 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

***

My ankle is sore, but better. I should be able to run on it in a week or so. It's a good thing, too. I feel fat. I miss my scruff. I think it looked good. One of my kids told me yesterday, "That was working for you, Mr. M." I thought so, too. But it was pretty scuzzy by the end of it. I wish I could figure out how to have that sort of partial scurff most of the time, like Charlie on Party of Five. I'm not sure if it's just because it was a change, but I liked it.

***

Jason is devising a workout schedule for us. I'm not sure why he's doing it the week before Christmas, but I'm not arguing. We're even thinking about moving the pingpong table down in the basement and having the middle floor bedroom being a workout room instead. We'd have more room for our acrobatic pingpong games in the basement, and we'd be able to entertain guests easier if the big pingpong table was downstairs. It's going to be a bitch to get it down there, though.

***

Oh my gosh! Christmas is a week from today! I'm so excited. I've been listening to Christmas music non-stop. My current favorite is Ella Fitzgerald Wishes You a Swingin' Christmas. She had such an amazing voice. I need to get my Christmas shopping done.

***

I'm about halfway through The Great Gatsby. I had expected to love it, but I just can't get into it. Maybe it'll get better. Nothing much has happened, and I'm finding Fitzgerald's writing to be awkward. His use of figurative language is pales in comparison with Zora Neale Hurston's. I'm hoping I'll get into it soon.

***

I can't wait for this week to be over. The kids are as restless as I am.

***

I hit snooze about 25 times this morning and missed my workout. Of course, my workout partners came in this morning. Not yesterday, which is the day I made it in. I was tired, though. Last night, I ended up cleaning my room until about midnight, an experience highlighted by my opening and shutting every single one of my CD cases to find lost CDs that I stuck in the wrong case. I found about twenty CDs that had been "lost." Still no sign of my A Very Special Christmas 3 disc, and I've been itching to hear Sheryl Crow's version of "Blue Christmas" again. I did find one lost Christmas CD, though - Hanson's Snowed In. Heh.

***

Gotta plan some lessons, and find a class set of the books containing August Wilson's Joe Turner's Come and Gone.