2001-11-22

Thanksgiving, posted at 4:37 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Things I'm thankful for today:

A loving family.

That I didn't get in an accident on the 15-hour odyssey home last night, in which we left at 4pm and I didn't roll into the driveway at 7am.

Great friends.

That I had the guts to move.

A cool city to live in.

A cool dog.

September 11 was a horrible tragedy and affected me deeply, but I did not lose anyone that I love. Or even know.

I have a healthy relationship with my parents, my grandparents, and my sister. And they have a healthy relationship with me.

A decent job that I'm getting better and better at.

Good taste in music and film.

An optimistic view on the world tempered by just enough realism so I'm not just wearing rose-colored glasses.

My strikingly blue eyes. :)

The self-confidence and tenacity to turn around my spiral into poor health, and losing 75 pounds in 15 months.

Still not quitting it and feeling better and better, both physically and mentally.

Getting out of my comfort zone.

Knowing for sure what I want in life in relationships, and being able to pursue it. (now, if I just would...)

A cool house that we're renting.

Having a best friend as a roommate.

A pingpong table in our living room.

That every semester after the current one - my first as a teacher - will be easier and better for both me and my students.

That I'm home right now and the traditions that we have always done on Thanksgiving - putting up Christmas lights, preparing for tomorrow's big shopping day, a big meal - are still intact.

I am honestly enjoying my life right now. Some things could be improved (social life...), but overall I could not be happier.