2001-11-21

Homeward Bound, posted at 8:29 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm dreading the drive today, but it'll be nice when I get there. I should roll on in at around 3am tonight.

I plan on sleeping in on Thanksgiving, having a good meal, and then watching my tape of Ed and The West Wing that my parents have promised to tape for me, as I'll be missing them on my drive home tonight. Hopefully Survivor is on Thursday night, since I've missed two in a row. Maybe I'll be able to catch Harry Potter.

My sister and I are taking our annual day-after-Thanksgiving Christmas shopping trip - we'll be getting up at around 5am and driving 35 minutes to Kalamazoo for malls and Target's and Kohl's. I get an insane amount of holiday spirit on the weekend after Thanksgiving, and I think being home for the first time in three months will precipitate it even more. I've even packed my numerous Christmas music CDs.

Heidi is also pretty excited about going out on Friday night, for our first legal night of drinking together. It should be fun. Gale and I have made tentative plans to go to Chicago and visit our friend Charsha on Saturday morning - Nate may come too - so she may come down on Friday night and also come out with us. That way, we can leave early Saturday morning and drive the eighty miles to Chicago.

It's going to be a jam-packed weekend, and will go quickly. I can't believe we don't have Wednesday off, or at least a half-day today. I don't ever remember not having a half-day on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving back when I was a student. As it is, I'll be getting on the road as quickly as possible, and I'm sure the roads will be soup.

Luckily, Jason, Mike (who lives in DC, who I taught with last year in Lansing, and who I went to middle school with in Redford), and Holden will be along for the ride, and I bought the John Adams biography on tape to entertain me once it gets dark. Books on tape are wonderful. Technically, this one's on CD (8 of them) - and I hope it's good. It wasn't exactly my first choice, but the books-on-CD selection was crummy at the store. I've listened to a bit of it already, and so far, it's really good. Although it's not the type of book I would normally buy, I'm pretty interested in American history, and it's one of those books that will make me feel smart by reading/listening to it. I've heard really good things about it, so I hope my traveling companions can tolerate it.

Another positive of the drive? Dinner at a Sheetz tonight.