2001-10-30

Catching up, posted at 7:16 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I loved Boston Public last night. It's still a little melodramatic and goes over the top too often (re: a student chopping the hand off his mother), but it has moments of pure glee. I loved when Lipshitz called one of his students a "dick."

Gosh, how I'd love to do that sometimes. Like yesterday, when I handed out three detentions in one period because kids wouldn't shut up when I was talking. Sometimes, I just can't tolerate it and need to hand out detentions. Normally I hate giving them out because it just means that these freshmen are with me even longer, but yesterday it was pleasant. I helped a girl with her big soundtrack project that was due on Thursday, so I can unequivocally say that detention helped her performance.

I've realized just how much catching up I need to do over the next few days. I get my grade scan sheets on Nov. 1, and they're due on Nov. 5. However, the chaperoning/camping trip is from Nov. 2 - Nov. 6. So I'm not sure what I'm going to do. I have a major unit test on Nov. 2 (the first day I'm gone) that I've been telling the kids is going to be counted on this marking period. As of now, I'm not sure how that can occur. Maybe they'll give me an extension because I'll be gone and "they" were ones who asked me to go. I have a crapload to do. I'm not even done yet getting all my copies done for my absence.

While I'm camping, I hope to read The Great Gatsby. I've never read it, and since I have to teach it in December, I figure I'd better get going on it. I have a feeling I'm really going to like it. Nick

Not a whole lot new. I've got to do some grading.