2001-07-04

4th of July, posted at 1:51 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm about to go to the movies alone. I almost decided upon "crazy/beautiful," which has gotten very good reviews and stars the luminous and talented Kirsten Dunst. But I felt a little weird seeing a teen movie alone, even if it is supposed to be an excellent teen movie. I think I'm going to see "A.I." instead. It's gotten decent reviews. I think I'll like it. It's sad that I'm spending the 4th of July alone in a dark movie theather. But with Erin out of town, Alan moved, Kelly and Paul moved, and everyone else I know being busy, there's really no one to go to the movies with anymore. I have to work tonight, so there's no option of going home. Oh well. I'm actually looking forward to it, so I shouldn't complain. The gym is closed today for the holiday, which makes me a little angry. One of the reasons I got a membership there was because it was 24/7, and I can understand the big holidays off. But there are a lot of folks whose regular schedule can't change with the 4th of July being on a Wednesday. Like me. I'd much rather be going there than the movies. I worked out yesterday in anticipation of not being able to today, and have that lovely sore feeling that comes after a really nice workout. It's too bad I can't follow up on it today. The trip to Baltimore has not materialized, mostly because I've been lazy in calling my contacts. I'm sort of waiting on my contact from Baltimore to follow up on my recent application and letter, but they haven't. I should have caled Monday or Tuesday, and can't call today since it's a holiday. I may delay the trip until Sunday night through Tuesday. We'll see. It's 2pm, and I haven't seen the light of day yet. I just couldn't sleep last night. My schedule is all screwy, and I laid in bed until after 5am, thinking about various topics. I have been able to fall asleep fairly readily this summer, so I'm not sure what it was. A combination of too much activity late at night, of feeling bad about a little diaryland exchange with a good friend, of being hungry, and of wishing my bed was softer, I suppose. Anyhow, I'm off to see "A.I.". Please, let it be good.