2001-06-18

Long day at work, posted at 1:18 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

What a long day.

I remember Sundays from last year being busy, but not this busy. We checked in around 1000 campers today. Long day - I've been in the office from around 9am until 1am - how long is that? My gosh, 16 hours!?!

It went relatively smoothly, though, until my supervisor yelled at me during the last portion of it for something that I think was his fault. I'll bring it up tomorrow. I have to get better at talking about the things that bug me with people, especially with him. I'm far too passive aggressive for my own good.

My sister bugged me this weekend. She came up yesterday to talk about what she deemed a midlife crisis, but didn't show up until 9pm and ended up getting drunk with my aunt tonja. She contributed to me missing my friend's party and in general just made me mad because she acted like she wanted to spend some time with me this weekend but ended up ditching me. Unless calling me up drunk at 10pm and inviting me out to the Olive Garden counts as hanging out. Then she called off the hook today even though she knew I had to work all day. Now she wants to go to breakfast at 7am tomorrow. God. I don't know how I'll manage...

I've been toying around with what to call my new diary, which eventually I'll have to have because I can't have my first and last name on this one forever. I really like "Epiphany." It's been one of my favorite words every since it was a subplot on "Blossom" once. Then it became the partial title of my favorite album of all-time, Brenda Kahn's "Epiphany in Brooklyn," which I still think is incredible to this day. I can't go more than a few weeks without listening to it. The last reason I like the word "epiphany" is because it represents what I love about teaching - the moment that things just "click" with the student - the churning of their brains has resulted in some sort of answer. Epiphany is when they realize that there may not be any one right answer, but that it's the journey that is the ultimate destination.

Anyhow, epiphany.diaryland.com is taken by some chick who hasn't updated since 1999. I've e-mailed her to see if she'd give it up, but the e-mails bounce. Does anyone out there know [email protected]? Hmmm...

With Epiphany taken, I thought about trying do something around the word "epiphany." Perhaps I could even directly play off "Epiphany in Brooklyn" and call it something like "EpiphanyinBaltimore" (or wherever I end up). But you can only have 12 characters. I thought about "Epiphanyinme", but that just seemed sort of cheesy.

By the way, did I ever tell you all about the weekend that Brenda Kahn stayed with me? What a thrill. Maybe someday... too tired now. But Epiphany in Brooklyn definitely made a big impact on my life. And, no, that wasn't just another excuse to link the album another time.

The other option is "Magnolia," which isn't taken and is my favorite movie of all time . It's also the partial title of a Catie Curtis song called "Magnolia Street," which is incredible. My friend Simon was so moved by the song that when he came upon a sign for a real Magnolia Street, he photographed it and it's framed in his room. I'm personally moved by it because it's the rare type of song that makes me believe in love, in a non-platonic or non-familial way. Sometimes this takes some convincing.

Anyhow, so Magnolia is a possibility. I can't really decide. I tried to combine the two (Magnoliphany?) and it just sort of turned out silly. I may try to think of something totally different. Any ideas?

Oh! Guess what? I finally got some fun google hits - one for "Tina Fey", one for quads exercise bike (okay, I guess that one's not that cool), and one for - and this one's a doozy - fucking teachers after class . Oh boy.