2001-06-16

Sister visiting, h.s. graduation, posted at 4:34 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I just returned from Eastern High School's graduation ceremony. It was a nice ceremony, but depressed me a lot. Not only did it remind me that I'll probably never again see a lot of these kids who have made such an impact on my life, but it also made me start thinking about my own graduation from high school six years ago. I can count on one hand the number of people I still stay in touch with from h.s. If I narrow it down to just folks in my class, the number dwindles to maybe a couple people. Are my friendships that fleeting that I can't keep friends just six years later? High school wasn't a horrible time for me. I wasn't included in a lot of social things, but felt happy most of the time.

I made closer friends in college, but I still can't help but think about where I'll be in these friendships in six years. Gosh, six years... I'll be pushing 30. I hope I'm still staying in touch with the important figures and college friends in my life right now when that moment hits. I also hope I'm settled down with someone by then, but that's another story I suppose.

My little sister is driving up right now to discuss with me she's describing as a "mid-life crisis." She's 20, by the way. She seems pretty confused and blindsided on the phone, so tonight should be interesting. Heidi has made a lot of choices I wouldn't have made since she graduated from high school. She didn't go away to college because she had a boyfriend at home whom she didn't want to leave (she never articulated this as a reason, but it was evident.) After a semester at a community college in the area, she went to cosmetology school. After getting her license a couple months ago and not working in a salon yet, she now wants to go to college. Maybe, at least. She's begging me to let her move to wherever I move with me, because she feels trapped by South Haven. I don't really blame her, but I tried to warn her about it when she was contemplating colleges when she was 18. I don't really have a problem with her moving with me, and Jason unsuprisingly doesn't mind either (few things bug Jason - the guy is really laid back). I'll just have to institute a "no hook-ups" rule with the two of them if we end up having an apartment with the three of us. A more likely scenario is us letting Heidi stay with us temporarily until she finds a roommate at whatever salon she's working out. We'll see.

Anyhow, Heidi is contemplating three job offers - one in Kalamazoo at a hoity-toity salon, one in Benton Harbor at a children haircutting salon, and one at the bar/boat/restaurant place in South Haven. The ritzy salon in Kalamazoo would pay well, she could probably transfer to another in the chain if she decides to leave, and she would get the best hairdressing experience, but it's also an hour commute from South Haven. The less-than-ritzy salon in Benton Harbor is only a 30-minute commute, but wouldn't offer the pay or experience that the ritzier salon would. The waitressing position at The Idler would pay the best and is right in town, but wouldn't offer any hairdressing experience. Heidi isn't sure what she wants to do, and is freaking out about it.

I'm trying to decide how to spend the evening. If I can convince Heidi to go with me to Pontiac and Paul and Kelly's party, then I'll do that. I miss them, and a pool sounds really nice today. Also, Melissa Ferrick is playing at the Pride Festival here in Lansing. I love seeing her live, but I don't really have anyone to go with and I just saw her a couple of weeks ago so perhaps I won't go. I'm also not a big fan of outdoor concerts, at least with artists I absolutely love - no one seems to pay attention. If I move somewhere cool, I'll have lot of opportunities to see Melissa. But if I can swing it, I'll go. We'll see. I have to wait for Heidi to get here.

The repercussions of my decision to turn down the Charlotte position haven't been much. Most people I have spoken with think I made the right choice. I could hear the disappointment in my grandma's voice, but I'm not really sure why because Charlotte, NC isn't that close to Venice, FL. I would love to be near them, because I know that when old age does hit them it could be quick. Right now, they're in their late seventies but act like they're much, much younger. My grandparents are the coolest people I know, and helped me out a great deal in college. I cherish the time I have with them - I see them at least once a week. But I'm not sure if I should make a place-of-employment decision based on how close it is to them. I would love to help take care of them like they have helped take care of me. But they're seemingly far from needing that, I hope. But the turn of my other grandma was really quick. It scares me. I have looked at some schools in the Florida area, and have been offered a spot in Ft. Lauderdale, but I'm just not sure. Right now, Baltimore is looking really good.

Life is good. It's beautiful outside. But I sure wish I was in my hometown enjoying Harborfest , which was always my favorite summer festival back home. Damn job. We've got over a thousand kids coming first thing in the morning.