2001-06-10

Saturday Night drunkeness, posted at 1:38 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm pretty drunk. Actually, Jason and I are debating whether we're "pretty" drunk or "really" drunk. It's a debate for the ages. Yes, Jason came up, and we failed in our attempts to connect with anyone else to go out to the bar. Yes, my friends suck. No one returned phone calls. Thus, we were left to our own devices of a bottle of orange smirnoff vodka and ginger ale. It's actually quite good. Jason and I polished off a fifth and a quarter between the two of us. We're so drunk right now, it's not even funny. Jason is wondering what I'm doing right now. "Make sure you're not sending off any letters to schools in Virginia," he says. He is hoping we're headed towards Virginia. Me too, I guess, although Charlotte called me back yesterday (couldn't return the call; got it too late). He just asked me to get him a bucket to sleep next to. We drank the same amount, but his 140-or-so-pound frame gets a lot more messed up then me, who has quite a bit of body weight on him. But I'm still feeling pretty goofy. We're currently watching my "Three Kings" DVD in French. Great movie, but we're not getting anything from it. We've actually had some pretty real conversations tonight. For example, he knows my current "crush," or at least my conversation with him tonight confirmed it. (This is unusual, because I never/very rarely talk about these things with anyone, even best friends.) He was fishing for answers, and I confirmed. Which is fine. We also watched Saturday Night Live, and I think he now shares a desire for Tina Fey. I mean, the woman is hot and so feisty smart sexy glasses that I'd watch "SNL" just to see her. We've also had the "friendship" speech, and the "dude, it'll be so cool living with you" speech. (Despite the fact that we've been suitemates for two years and known each other for six, we've never actually lived with each other.) Fun stuff. I'm tired, and getting close to passing out I think. Yawn. Why didn't Jessica or Stacy or Gale or Jake or Michelle call tonight? Better things to do, I guess. It's my own damn fault for staying in East Lansing on a balmy weekend in June when my hometown is South Haven, MI, which is a great place to be on summer weekends (miles of beaches, my parents' boat). At least the night gave Jason and I a good reason to declare ourselves "losers" and say that the first thing we need to do when we move to wherever we move is to find some friends. Amen to that. The other latest development is my sister is begging me to let her move with us. My 20-year old sister who I like and all, but not sure how we would get along living with each other. Jason is fine with it. We'll see. Next morning appendum: I loved Mitch Albom's column today about the killing of Tim McVeigh. Yes, McVeigh was a dispicable human being. But we are just as dispicable for killing him instead of letting him rot in jail. But there are hundreds of reasons why I'm against the death penalty, and I won't get into them all here...