2001-05-24

MSU Mark strikes again, posted at 3:51 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

If anyone is curious about one of my alternative existences on the web, go here to the Detroit Tigers M-Live forum . My name is MSU Mark, and I'm a pretty prominent poster. There's a guy named Dave who I battle with every day. He's an idiot. I actually know a lot about baseball and am a big Tigers fan, even though I only go to about one game a year. There's my ally, who goes by the name of Boatbuddy. There's Fruit Loops, who generally has pretty smart (re: they agree with mine) comments to say. Ditto J S. Then there's Roger Reality, who is the bane of the "MSU Mark" existence - every time I post something, he tells me I should go back to school. Sometimes, I get so "into" this board that I check it before I check my e-mail.

(A big thanks to Yelnad for telling me how to do links! Now, does someone want to tell me how to figure out what google searches have found your page?)

My "MSU Mark" character - combative, know-it-all-ish - is just one of many web characters that I've created for myself on the web. There's also my overly-PC persona on the Melissa Ferrick list, where I keep my mouth (keyboard) shut that I'm afraid that she's painting herself into a corner by focusing just on her lesbian audience, or that it's hypocritical for her to play the Michigan Womyn's Festival because it's such a separatist event. There's the Mark that exists on this diaryland site, which is the closest to the real thing, but missing a bit still. It's interesting how many dual existences I live at once thanks to the Internet. Probably not healthy. Oh well.

Anyhow, I had a mediocre day teaching today. My mornings are long, but the classes are good. My afternoons are short, but the classes are bad. My 6th hour is the worst. And today, they told me they had already read Langston Hughes' "Thank You, Ma'am" earlier in the year (the other classes hadn't), so I had to come up with a lesson plan in about 30 seconds. I impressed them by having "Annabel Lee" memorized, and we talked about that a bit. I totally threw something together, and it turned out to be a piece of crap. But oh well. Can't win them all.

I've also got to figure out a way to stop crashing after lunch. I'm not getting much sleep at night, and just getting exhausted in the afternoons. With working out in the morning and moving at night, my days are pretty packed... but nowhere near how they were with the AHD job. Why am I so freaking tired?

Well, I didn't take a nap yesterday (beat the urge and went to the gym!), I think it is going to happen today. G-night.