2001-05-20

Friday night fun in South Haven, posted at 2:04 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I got hammered on Friday night.

Okay, so I went home to prepare for my parents' big 25th surprise wedding anniversary party. (Which, by the way, I just returned from... more on that in another entry). I met up with my little sister, saw my folks, and then decided we wanted to go out that night. We also met up with Shad, who is a friend of the family who I was pretty close with when I was about 14 but who I hadn't really hung out with since that time.

Anyhow, we decided to go out, and we're heading to Heidi's apartment when we stop at Next Door Foodstore, a local party store. My sister, age 20, heads in there, and after a few moments returns with three six-packs of Hooch. I had no idea she was getting alcohol, and was pretty surprised to see her talk her way into getting some despite being underage.

We pick up Shad, and head back to the apartment. Erin, who is my sister's best friend since childhood and who I consider to be a second sister, is also with us. We start drinking immediately.

I had no idea I would get as drunk as I did. Shad and I went out and got a fifth of Hot Damn and a fifth of Raspberry Smirnoff, and we did shots. I've never drank with my sister, so we did a lot of "sibling shots" and shots to the success of the party. Shad, Heidi, and I polished off the two fifths together in about a half hour. Woah. That doesn't count our supplementary Hooch.

We then went to the bar, driven by Heidi's hillbilly friend Casey. We did some stupid, unsafe things...

We rode in the back of a pickup truck.

We packed a cooler for the ride to the bar, even though it was only five minutes. Despite this, three beers were drank on the way.

We stopped at a gas station and were loud.

We stopped at the bank, where Heidi peed in the bushes.

We got kicked out of three bars.

We went back to the apartment in the middle of it, and stole some "Spacious Bedrooms" lawn signs.

At 1am, we decided we didn't have enough, so we went to a third bar. And got kicked out of that one.

The third one also featured a shoeless appearance by me. I had forgotten that I had taken off my shoes. Oops.

Funny moments:

Me telling Heidi to finish her drink, because you can "never leave a dying soldier." She kept trying to repeat what I said, but could never say "soldier". It always came out "shoulder," no matter how hard she tried. (Okay, so you had to be there)

Heidi telling a bartender she left her ID at home, then getting out her wallet with her driver's license to pay.

Shad and I walking out of the third bar with our Corona's after getting kicked out.

I can't remember any more, but needless to say, I partied hard on Friday night. It was a fun time - definitely something it'll take a while to live down. I haven't been that drunk for a long time. I have no regrets, except I should have kept a better eye on Heidi... she drank a hell of a lot, and got pretty sick. Shad was a lot of fun. It was a good evening.