2001-05-10

Mother's Day approaching, posted at 10:11 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I saw one of my old students today, and she gave me one of the coldest shoulders I've ever gotten in my life. Apparently she's not happy with the D she got on her term paper. The D that she earned, I might add - the thing was a piece of crap. But I thought about the look she gave me all day, and it's burned into my senses. I have thin skin, and don't handle things like this well. Hopefully this will pass. Everyone won't like me.

I wish someone would just tell me where to get a job for next year. It would be so much easier.

I've devoured two books in the last two days. I'm deciding what to teach my freshmen after "Great Expectations." I'm lapping up these young adult novels like crazy.

Teaching fulltime takes a lot of time. I'm exhausted at the end of the day. But relishing the freedom of being done with my student teaching and not being evaluated all the time. Now I just can't wait for my measly $70 a day to start coming in - I'm more strapped for cash right now than I ever have before. I might have to sell plasma to buy my mom a Mother's Day present.

Speaking of which, my parents are mad that I seem to have forgotten, or at least downplayed, their 25th anniversary. It was May 8. My sister and I are planning a big surprise party for next weekend, so until then they'll just have to think that I think it's no big deal that they've made 25 years. My relationship with my father hopefully will be okay. I can't think of any way I can let let him know that I think it is a big deal without ruining their surprise. This weekend I'm heading to Detroit with them to spend Mother's Day with my grandmother, who is growing worse every day.

That's all for now.