2000-11-22

Roller coaster emotional state on upswing!, posted at 00:58:58

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I am so ridiculously happy right now. Why, you ask? Here goes, in neat, numbered order: 1) Tomorrow is the day before Thanksgiving. I am going home! I am going home! I'm pretty excited. As much as I hate to admit it, I'm a bit homesick. I really miss my dog. 2) Today was a wonderful day in school. I assigned a big project to my Seniors that was due on Monday, and today was the day they presented them. It went wonderful. It's tough to even express how happy I am that the assignments turned out the way they did - demonstrating true understanding of the material in a way that I think they had fun with. I got big-time compliments from my Mentor Teacher. 3) Someone complimented me on my patience, saying, "You're perhaps the most patient guy I've ever met." 4) I got invited to get involved with the school play, "A Few Good Men." Today was my first day. It's giving me an opportunity to get involved in another aspect of high school life, and letting me make some more connections with students. The teacher running it has even offered to write me a letter of recommendation. 5) Tomorrow, Mrs. Goff will be in Arizona, and I will be subbing for her. It's a half day. I will get paid! I will get paid! It is officially the first time I will get paid for being a teacher. 6) I am 80% done with my Mentor evaluations and evaluation meetings. They have all gone smoothly. Life is good. Did I mention I'm very happy right now?