2000-12-06

Sad, Numb, posted at 03:28:07

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

A sudden death of a supervisor of mine has left me in shock and denial. A strong, vibrant woman of 44 - the director of the Department of Residence Life - whom I respected and admired passed away this morning. No one knows why yet. Her son heard he moaning upstairs, called 911, and she had died before she arrived at the hospital. Totally sudden and unexpected.

I'm not sure how to react. She was a very nice woman, someone I respected a lot. When she first came to MSU not two years ago, she set up a meeting with me as one of her first things to talk with me about the Common Grounds. She was an unflailing supporter of the group, someone who took true initiative in her position and genuinely cared about doing her job well.

Her death has not hit me yet, at all. I almost teared up, but didn't let it come. I wasn't close with her, but I respected her and I think she respected me. I'm thinking about her 14-year old son, who is now without his only family. It would be a lot easier to accept if it had been a car crash or something - something that made sense. As of now, without even knowing what it could have been, there's no sense of closure.

I'm sad, numb.

This is her