2001-03-31

Friday Night, posted at 12:55 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Well, something came up at my dorm job and I missed my opportunity to see Danny and Melissa from the Real World at the Union. Oh well. I had been excited about it for a while, but was tired so it was probably for the better. Melissa Ferrick is tomorrow night. I can't wait. Spring break is now here for my high school. While it won't be a total relaxation period - getting ready for the job fair and all - it will be a nice break. I'm going to the concert tomorrow night, and am heading home Sunday to spend a few days at my folks' house. My sister and I are planning a surprise 25th wedding anniversary party for them. We're already fighting about it over the phone, so hopefully we can do it face to face better. Here's how our last conversation went: Heidi: "So, who should we hire as a DJ?" Mark: "What?" Heidi: "We could get one for just a few hundred dollars." Mark: "Heidi, you do realize I will have no job at this point and no money, right?" Heidi: "This is a big deal. Their 25th anniversary." M: "I know. But considering we've never even acknowledged their anniversary before and their birthdays are that same month, I can't spend a lot of money." H: "I think we're gonna get Bob's to cater it." M: "Why don't we just make it a potluck?" H: "Don't be fucking ridiculous." Then I hung up on her. That was last week. She hasn't returned my phone calls since. Fun. Really, I don't have a problem with having a party for them, but I don't have any money and my parents would definitely not want their kids to spend a lot (any?) money on them. They have made it clear to us in the past that their anniversary is their day and do not expect things from us. It will be nice to have it, but I don't want to go crazy with it. Anyhow, back to feeling sorry for myself for missing Melissa and Danny.